rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















25 random things about me other people may or may not know
February 04, 2009

1. I am left-handed.

2. I once had my cigarette lit by Slash, of �Guns N Roses�. And if you don�t know me well, that may not seem like a huge deal, but it defies the laws of the universe to even put us in the same place at the same time, so it still amazes me.

3. I share a birthday with Heinrich Himmler, Nazi war criminal Irma Grese, Vladimir Putin, and Oliver North. But to balance out the evil, I also share it with three Nobel Laureates (Archbishop Tutu, Niels Bohr, and Sir Harold Kroto), Yo-Yo Ma...and my husband.

4. I could read before I started kindergarten.

5. I used to think that the most common emotion I�ve experienced over the course of my life was sadness, until I realized�it is boredom. I may be sad a lot, but I�m pretty sure I�ve experienced boredom at least once a day, every single day of my life. And I was reminded of this by the fact that, 5 items into this list, I�m bored.

6. While I�ve already rejected religion, I�m still in the process of rejecting God. That part is actually the hardest.

7. I�ve never seen �Ghandi�, �Schindler�s List�, or �Lawrence of Arabia�. And I don�t want to. No matter how good a movie is alleged to be, if it doesn�t interest me, it just doesn�t.

8. Growing up with three brothers scarred me�quite literally. I have scars by each eye, on my chin, on my ankle, on my (ahem) tushie, and one on my scalp that resulted in a permanent blonde streak in my hair, plus a chipped tooth. All due to various adventures instigated by my brothers.

9. Something that has always terrified me more than anything is the possibility of going blind. I�d rather get killed than survive without my sight.

10. Even though it was a lifelong dream to have my own swimming pool, when my husband bought me one, I didn�t want it. I would have preferred to have my bathroom remodeled.

11. I got drunk in my bedroom nearly every night, my last two years in high school.

12. I mentally rehearse nearly every encounter in my life�doctor visits, meetings, phone calls, social visits�any situation where I have to talk to someone. And I do a post-mortem on them all, after they are over. This is a lot of work, and it sometimes prevents me from initiating contact. But I can�t seem to not do it.

13. I would rather work in an office full of men than an office full of women. I don�t want to sound prejudiced, but it is just my personal experience in the workplace. I�ve worked with a lot of great guys, and a lot of horribly annoying women. I�ve been told I �think like a man�, and maybe that has something to do with it.

14. Sexual tension nauseates me. Yep. I get horny, I want to throw up. Romantic, eh?

15. I feel betrayed sometimes by the change in values from when I was a child. Once I was old enough to have the furs and diamonds I was taught to want back in the 60s and 70s, they became taboo�tainted with the blood of the humans and animals that die to provide them. I understand that, and I wear cloth coats and synthetic stones because it is the responsible, humane thing to do...but I still want my furs and my diamonds.

16. When I was a little girl, I used to tell people who asked that I wanted to be a nurse. I didn�t, but I had to say something, and I learned early that �truck driver� was not an acceptable answer for a girl. Acceptable answers were nurse, teacher, ballet dancer, and mommy. And I wanted to be a teacher, ballet dancer, or mommy a lot less than I wanted to be a nurse.

17. If I had to state the best decision I ever made, it would be: finally having hand surgery in 2005, after putting it of for various reasons for nearly 20 years. I still can�t believe the difference it has made in the quality of my life.

18. I believe, in my heart, that there is no one I can rely on for anything (except myself).

19. I�m currently without a hobby. Hobbies seem to run a pre-destined course with me, and then just fade away. Embroidery, flower-arranging, collecting art glass, beading�they�ve all fallen by the wayside and been replaced by something else�until now. And I really miss having something in my life to feel passionate about.

20. About 70% of what I do or don�t do in life is dictated one way or another by what people will think. But it�s not always a kind of timidity. Sometimes I want them to be shocked.

21. Even though I pretended to for a while once, I've never, ever had the slightest wish to have a baby.

22. I really miss my grandma--as much today as when she died in 1987.

23. When I was a little girl, I had no less than FOUR imaginary friends. Mary, Sally, Sue, and Jean. Can you tell I was starved for female company in that house full of boys?

24. As much as I've loved every dog I've ever had, I am a cat person at heart. I really wish I could have one again, but Spouse is allergic.

25. On the day I was born, John F. Kennedy signed the ratification for the Partial Test Ban Treaty.



Reading: "Sundays at Tiffany's", by James Patterson and Gabrielle Charbonnet. Not usually a Patterson fan, but the premise to this one intrigued me--an imaginary friend of childhood, who turns out, decades later, to be your own true love? Sappy, but I'm interested to see how they work it. IF they manage to work it.

Surfing: Shiny Sparkly Things. Because shiny, sparkly things make me happy.

Listening: Al Stewart, Steely Dan, Duffy.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com