rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















kudos
January 24, 2009

For what little it is worth--
My boss told me yesterday that I'm doing a phenomenal job. That I'm not only tackling a potentially overwhelming workload, I'm kicking its butt.

That's always nice to hear. The time and a half OT I'm getting is nicer, but compliments are always welcome.

Of course, neither compliments OR extra cash do much to soften the blow the project has been delayed by two weeks, and now I have to pull an all-nighter the night before Valentine's Day. Due to the global nature of our workforce, I have to wait until the Mumbai people get done working in order to make some system changes. Which means I have to work my morning shift on Friday, go home and nap, and come back at 9:00 pm.

Oh, well. I suspect I'll survive. It's just that I worry about trying to do careful, painstaking, precise work at the end of a very long day, when both my brain and my vision are frazzled. Also--Feb. 13th is not a great day for me, being the second anniversary of this .

And it's disheartening to realize that I won't get to go on a Valentine's weekend minibreak. And even more disheartening to realize that this probably means another two weekends that they will expect me to be working overtime.

Damn, I'm tired.


Tired has been pretty much driving the bus lately. I just sit like a zombie when I'm not working. I don't feel like doing anything. My house is a mess, but I don't have the gumption to clean it. I don't even want to futz on the computer or read a book, anymore.

So I stare at the TV. But that leads to trouble, because I'm apparently not tired enough to turn my brain completely off. I DVRed a couple of Jack Lemmon movies the other evening; one I hadn't seen in decades ("Under the Yum-Yum Tree"), and one old favorite ("Bell, Book, and Candle").

And my pro-feminist, anti-patriarchy brain just wouldn't stop thinking.

"Under the Yum-Yum Tree" has Lemmon playing a Landlord Lothario who rents only to hot single women and treats the whole place like his private harem. We also get Edie Adams as a "forward thinking" Professor who lectures on modern relationships. And in her off-time, she counsels her young niece and her fiance that love is (her) cooking for him, and mending his clothes, because "you wish him well"--and (him) working hard, mowing the lawn, and such, because "you wish her well". Nice hetero-normative imperative from Professor forward thinker.

As for BB&C...Well, when seen with a raised consciousness, it's the story of a strong, independant, vital woman who is broken on the wheel of the patriarchy and molded into the perfect, pliant, subservient 1950s fembot.

Yeah. Watch it again, I dare you.

Reading: "A Bone in the Throat", by Anthony Bourdain--but I'm really not progressing well.
I think I my take a break and go back to Richard Lockridge for a book or two.

Surfing: Not to speak of.

Listening: Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Replacements, Beck

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com