rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















nightmarish
January 05, 2009

I don�t know what kind of bad dreams the B was having last night, but judging by the kicking, whining and growling, they were doozies.

Probably not any worse than my own, though. I had not one, but two nasty nightmares last night. The first was a real horror movie; with me trapped for years in a haunted house. Held captive by a poltergeist, really. At one point, I was sure I was about to be set free after being trapped since the late seventies, only to be subjected to a fresh hell.

The second nightmare is less clear in my mind, but it seems to have been all about being trapped by a nightmare network of road construction, detours, and potholes big enough to swallow you whole.

So. Two dreams about being trapped and thwarted by circumstances beyond my control, unable to move forward, or reach my goals.

Gee. Wonder what that�s all about.


Niece got shanghaied early on Saturday morning; we had to cut her visit short because once her stepmom found out she was visiting us, she naturally had to come up with a reason to interfere. But we had a good visit anyway. Nephew stayed over Wednesday and Thursday, Niece on Thursday and Friday, and we got to really enjoy the company of each of them.

We ran down to Meijer in McHenry on Saturday, after Nice got picked up. Every three months or so, we make the trip for their �buy one, get TWO free� sale on laundry detergent. It�s about 30 miles or so out there, but all that free soap makes it quite worthwhile. The great produce and meat quality and prices are just icing on the cake.

And I went over to Borders while we were there. Spent Nephew�s gift ($15 Borders card) on a new calendar for my cube, and a book. The calendar is black & white photographs of Chicago. The book is Anthony Bourdain�s mystery novel, �A Bone in the Throat�. But since I just went to the library last week, I�ll be saving it to read later.

Between doing a good stock-up at Meijer, and getting what I wanted at the bookstore, it was a fruitful trip and well worth the drive. Tiring, though. Especially the part where you have to come home and put everything away�including breaking out the large packages of meat into single-meal size for the freezer.

Yesterday was one of those lovely days where I stayed in my bathrobe all day long and did a lot of relaxing. Did some laundry, made a nice, simple dinner (baked ham, mashed Yukon Golds, scalloped corn), puttered around playing computer games, finished one book and started another�just a nice, peaceful day of rest.

Which I kind of needed, considering how damned hectic and screwy my life has been lately. What with having to go BE company, or staying home WITH company, and my husband�s more-or-less CONSTANT company, I�m heartily craving my OWN company.

I have a bad case of the flat batteries. I love P&E, I love my folks, I love the kids, and I even (I suppose) love Spouse. But this introvert really, really really needs a break.

If it wasn�t for the fact that Spouse was an absolute gem this weekend (cleaning the bathroom, vacuuming and dusting, cooking, and doing dishes), I�d probably have already dropped my basket. As it is, I found myself ordering a pendant I saw last night on Jewelry Television. And I only do stuff like that when I�m teetering on the edge of sanity. (Oh, well-at least is was a cheap one.)

Reading: �Accent on Murder�, by Richard Lockridge. A mid-series (1958) Heimrich novel. Before he married Susan, or made Inspector. But after he�d made Captain.

Someday I�d like to have the entire series of twenty-two novels, but they aren�t so easy to find these days. I just picked up this one up for a buck at the library book sale. (And checked out several others while I was there.)

Surfing: What�s wrong in film criticism: Stop Ben Lyons.
What�s right in film criticism: Roger�s Rule Book.

Listening: Blondie, Bob Dylan, Amy Winehouse, Radiohead, The Police.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com