rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the new 2009-model handbaskets are in!
January 02, 2009

Elastic Waist is going away (sob!), Weetabix has left Diaryland (sigh), my peaceful day off failed to happen, my living room is full of teenagers, I�m stuck answering help desk phones and dealing with major server issues and major idiots this morning, because most of the staff took today off--and I �celebrated� the New Year by rebooting the ovarian operating system.

Holy shit, where�s the Tylenol?


The teenagers in the living room thing isn�t so bad, really. It makes an aging auntie and unk pretty happy when the 15-yr-old and the 17-yr-old choose to hang with them on a holiday. And they weren�t actually doing any fighting last night, hip-hip-hoo-skippity-ray. They even agreed on a movie to watch! (The Wedding Singer)

They long-ago learned that they can invite themselves over pretty easily, and did just that. Nephew spent Thursday and Friday nights, Niece gets Friday and Saturday nights, and that way they each get two nights, and one where they don�t have to share us. Nephew is going home this morning, and Spouse got up early to drive me in to the office so he and Niece can pick me up and take me out to lunch later.

Having gone to bed at my usual and sensible time on New Year�s Eve, I wasn�t sure what to expect--but apparently Time-Warner made up with Viacom before the mystical witching hour. I awoke to find we still had Comedy Central yesterday. That�s a good thing, right? I mean, I guess�since I�m PAYING FOR THEM and all.

Reading: �The Penge Bungalow Murders�, by John Mortimer. At last, the details of Rumpole�s brilliant first case alone, and without a leader! Also: the �courtship� of Horace and Hilda! I�m such a booknerd.

Surfing: Ces.

Listening: Warren Zevon. Still haven�t cleaned out Mr. Pilkington (another plan I had for 01/01 gone west!) and gotten rid of all the Spiral Frog stuff that expired�or whatever the hell it did. So I�m sticking to Warren, since that�s all my uploads, not downloads.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com