rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















last one of the year
December 31, 2008

No retrospective of 2008. Just another year that disappointed and depressed me.

Even with the relief of having another Christmas pass, it�s been something of a rough week so far. My chiro�s official diagnosis: I was a �Bavarian-style pretzel�, and once he�d worked his magic, I felt quite a bit better. But my sleep�s been shite (early wake-up calls from the Mighty B aren�t helping there) and work sucks, and Spouse is on my nerves because he�s not only home in the evenings, he�s as grouchy as a bear with a sore paw because he hates working days.

I made a very quick side trip to the library yesterday on my way home�scored some old Richard Lockridge mysteries, and a couple of Rumpoles I haven�t read yet. After the vintage glurge I�ve been reading (see below), I need the no-bullshit attitudes of Inspector Heimrich and my beloved Horace to cleanse my palate.

I plan to spend my NYD off reading vegging around the house and �Rumpole and the Penge Bungalow Murders��Like all good Rumpole fans, I�ve been waiting to hear the full story on that case since the seventies.



Reading: �Miss Billy�, "Miss Billy's Decision", and �Miss Billy Married�,by Eleanor H. Porter. Vintage popular fiction from the early 20th century. Unlike her �Pollyanna� (which I�ve always liked), they�re actually kind of annoying. How can I be expected to believe the author's depiction of her characters as smart and witty and clever and talented, when she always has them acting so friggin' stupid? If there is a wrong conclusion the characters in this book can jump to, they'll pole-vault to it. And they repeatedly take to heart all kinds of horrible advice from people they know�and freely admit!�are always wrong!

Surfing: After 10 fucking years without cable, I go back to it. And what happens after I sign up for Time-Warner? Well, shit..

Listening: the late and much-lamented Kirsty MacColl��There's a Guy Works Down the Chip Shop Swears He's Elvis�, �In These Shoes�, �"A New England".

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com