rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















FOUR MORE YEARS! (what--too soon?)
November 05, 2008

Apparently, it wouldn't have killed me to stay up another 45 minutes.
Best Headline of the Night?
�Failure to Blow Election Stuns Democrats�
--Andy Borowitz, Huffington Post


Meh. I was really tired. In fact, I zonked out on the couch while watching a videotape (yeah, still own quite a few of those) of Edward Petherbridge and Harriet Walter in "Have His Carcase". And if I choose sleep over Lord Peter Wimsey, I can choose it over anything.


In fact, I wish I'd chosen it over going into work today. After suffering through a commute that took nearly triple the usual amount of time, I finally had a clear road--at which point, I narrowly sideswipped by an oblivious driver coming up the on-ramp at the oasis. He not only totally ignored the yield sign, is actually swerved over well before he was in the actual merge lane. Just whump! He jerked the wheel to come over and never mind that the space he wanted was currently occupied by me. Thank providence there was no one in the middle lane. I was able to swerve and avoid a collision.

I've been battling this commute for a lot of years, and I expect all kinds of weird and dangerous shit from my fellow commuters. It's not the first time that sort of thing has happened to me.

However, it is the first time I was nearly killed by a STATE TROOPER.

I guess dumb, innattentive, obnoxious SOBs wear all kinds of hats--including Smoky The Bear's.
So--stuck my car from 5:22 to 7:05, and nearly killed once traffic finally started moving. And then I actually made it in to work (late), where the day could really start beating the holy living fuck out of me.

CAUTION: COGNITAVE DISSONANCE ALERT
How can someone stand at your desk for 15 minutes and lecture hector you about keeping your documentation from getting too technical--and a half-hour later, sit in a meeting and order you to add a section of specific, detailed, technical data to the very document in question? And not completely freakin' explode from their own complete and total lack of logic?

The work just keeps getting piled on, and so, most frustratingly, do the bosses. My latest ridiculous burden it a BA role on a freakishly huge project with a ridiculously unrealistic live date. So in addition to the two bosses I already have to deal with, I will also have a project manager more than happy to tell me what to do.

Oh, yeah. This new project will also require me to design and code extensive changes to one of my systems.

What kind of company do I work for, that can have me seriously re-thinking the wisdom of swerving this morning? Honestly--if I hadn't I'd either be dead, or suing the FUCK out of the State of Illinois right now. And either way, I'd come out a winner simply because I wouldn't have to go to work tomorrow.

You know--it occurs to me that I got out of retail all those years ago so I wouldn't have to deal with December being my busy time of year, and so I wouldn't have a store manager and seven assistant managers who could tell me what to do.

The world is round, ain't it?

Reading: I have NOTHING! to read at the moment. A trip to the library is clearly indicated.

Surfing: TGP LIVES! And in the spirit of completeion, also dies--in the alternate outcome Ces so thoughtfully provided.

Listening: Patti Smith and post-election news stuff.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com