rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















invalid8
November 07, 2008

Fight the hate. Fight the ignorance and stubbornness that refuse to see you as humans, and as citizens.

Fight the lies and the spin that perpetuate this denial of civil and human rights:
Andrew Pugno, attorney for the groups that sponsored the amendment, called the lawsuits "frivolous and regrettable." "It is time that the opponents of traditional marriage respect the voters' decision," he said.

It doesn�t work that way, Mr. Pugno. It�s not a two-way street. California gays do not oppose anyone�s right to enter into a traditional marriage.

Mr. Pugno, the only people who are opposing any marriage at all are those who are paying your fees.


The time has come. After nearly a decade and a half of service, the old Dish system has finally, and irrevocably,died. Truth is, we've been paying for channels we can't get for months now, and I'm grateful that the darn thing finally gave up the ghost, spurring Spouse--at last!--to let me take action.

So I walked into the local cable company this afternoon, stated that I hadn't had cable in over 13 years and had no clue how to go about getting it, and put myself in the hands of Kevin, the extremely nice, capable gentleman at the counter.

As of Tuesday, I will have the digital cable package, HBO, 6 months of free Showtime, On Demand access...and a DVR.

And, I'm pleased to say, for only a couple bucks more per month than I was paying for the decrepit Dish.

And Spouse is pleased as hell, because he will not only have cable on the bedroom TV, he will also have his long-coveted Military Channel. As for me, I may not get to watch much TV, but damn, it, when I want it, I want it. I'll have to wait till Tuesday to see this week's True Blood, but since I'm getting HBO on Demand, I won't have to miss it entirely. Come Tuesday, i'll be able to enjoy it.
And in other news, there is a possibility that at least one of the projects with which I'm currently saddled at work will be postponed. God knows I need the relief, and I'd be thrilled, except that it is the only project that I find at all interesting and enjoyable.
In a final and kind of gross note--Elastic Waist wants to know if I have sex during my period.

Well, no.

I never had the kind of periods that lend themselves to that sort of thing. It�s not (just) a hemorrhaging flow, it�s�chunky. Said flow usually goes on for a full 7 days, and my �light� last day is heavier than a lot of women�s worst day. And the pain is total�not just cramps, but headaches and nausea and full-body achiness and a touch-sensitivity that make me want to crawl out of my own skin. Bloating and breast tenderness and mood swings, too.

Honestly, I am such a physical wreck for 9-11 days a month (oh, yes�PMS as well) That I can�t imagine anyone wanting to have sex with me. Spouse is a trouper at dealing with all this, after a quarter-century. But he knows I can�t stand to be touched.

Reading: After a trip to the library, I'm loaded down with the rest of the "Mitford" series by Jan Karon. Read "A Common Life" and am well into "In This Mountain". While I don't get much into (or much out of)the theology in her books, I do love the cozy, small town life aspects. And I need a warm little world to crawl into right now, where people are happy and amusing and caring.

Surfing: Google result for the search query Why am I alive?. Something to do with "God", apparently. Maybe tomorrow I'll Google "why does this god of yours hate me?"

Listening: soundtrack from "A Mighty Wind".

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com