rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Halloweekend, Sunday
November 02, 2008

Well, I did one of those things I periodically do in the name of sociability and the spirit of friendship�even though it�s kind of a personal hell.

I went to a football party.

So not me, I could weep.

But Spouse and P and E were all psyched up for it, and what could I do for my favorite peeps but go along? Thus, this football-hating, anti-Wisconsonian, non-drinker spent 4 hours in a bar, watching football. Surrounded by loud, obnoxious, drunken Packer fans (or is that redundant?), in the company of two people tricked out from head to toe in Titans gear.

Yeah, I know�right? That actually got genuinely scary a couple of times. Especially when the Titans won in overtime. We even ducked out through the fire door, instead of trying to negotiate the entire length of the place in the face of the Packer�s defeat. Why court any more trouble?

The food was great, though. Pre-game hot appetizers of chicken wings, fried mushrooms, meatballs, and such. At half-time, a sumptuous meal of roast pig, roast chicken, polish sausage, little red potatoes in butter, and steamed carrots. They even did a dessert assortment that included chocolate �clairs, apple pie, and carrot cake among the choices. Plus raffles and door prizes--and all for $15.00 a ticket.

E won a six-pack of some kind of beer from Florida, but that was the only prize at our table. Nobody won any raffles or football pools.


Since my afternoon had completely overwhelmed any coping mechanisms I have for the sensory defensiveness, I was just about shattered by the time we got home. Thank goodness Spouse needed a nap�I was able to relax in the quiet and focus on some household chores to help restore my equilibrium. Did a bit of laundry, caught up with the dirty dishes, and watched True Blood before going to bed and working crosswords till I fell asleep around 9:30.

Reading: "The Gum Thief", by Douglas Coupland.

Surfing: Everybody has a choice. And her choice is to be a real Halloween witch. Oh well, Shirley, I guess we�ll see next Tuesday. Or should I say �C U Next Tuesday� ?

Listening: Oh, good grief�sweet, sweet silence after the din of drunken football fans.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com