rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















if I'd known I had superpowers, I'd have signed on from home
October 30, 2008

What a shitty day to have to go to work. Not only was it Potluck Day (sweet providence deliver me from potluck days), and Thursday (by far the noisiest day of the week) but it was one of those days full of mysterious system problems that keep you from getting anything useful done.

The funny thing is, it kept feeling like it was me causing the issue. Try to send an email, and Outlook goes down. Try to save a spreadsheet, and wave bye-bye to the network server. Ugh. Why didn't I find out I could do this before I left the house and drove all the way to work this morning?

Between the inability to send and receive email and the inability to save my work, roughly 90% of my productivity was eliminated. Quelle suckage, with the deadlines I've got.


After a pretty annoying day, I decided to stop on the way home and shop for some jeans--I've had zero pairs to wear lately, and really needed some for a football party we're going to on Sunday. So I went to Catherine's, and I really lucked out. I not ony found a nice pair of jeans on sale for $23.00, I found the new winter coat I've been dreading having to shop for. Marked down from $149 to $80.84. I wasn't so lucky with the knit top I bought, though--it was waaaay to big and will have to go back. That'll teach me to wait till I get home to try something on. (Like that's a lesson I'll ever learn, right?)
When I got home, I called the 'rents to wish them a happy 53rd anniversary, and that call must have been something of a record--on the phone with my mom, and I managed to ring off in only 40 minutes!

I'm really bushed, now. It was one of those days where I had to spend hour after hour engaging directly with the human race, and I'm so drained I can't stand it. In act, I don't even have the energy to post this--it'll have to wait till tomorrow. I'm going to go sit in a quiet room and read.

Reading: "Amanda/Miranda". One of the few Richard Peck novels aimed at an adult audience. Not one of the best things he's written, but I've read it a few times over the years and it's okay. A lot of mistaken identity, thwarted love, intrigue and revenge, but quite contrived. For a better Peck book with references to the Titanic, I'd recommend his YA story "Ghosts I Have Been".

Surfing: Wikipedia Survey.

Listening: Sting, Duffy�and some Michael Martin Murphy and Mary Chapin Carpenter. Since I�d already listened to a couple of single-namers, I figured I�d better even things out with some 3-namers.

(Besides, I don�t have any Cher, Bono, Prince, Bjork, Enya, Seal, Moby, Beck, Yanni, Usher, Liberace, Jewel or Eminem loaded on Mr. Pilkington.)

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com