rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















working my hinder off
September 29, 2008

This was definitely the weekend to go to ShopKo. We stopped in Saturday morning to take a look at a GPS unit they had on sale. And though we didn�t end up getting it, I was able to get great bargains on a number of things I�ve been needing.

  • I finally found a new rug for the bathroom--at 50% off!
  • I got a phenomenal deal on new sheets�they had packages containing two sets, for $27.99, any size. I got a pack for each bed.
  • I finally decided I was too old and broken down to clean floors on my hands and knees, so I bought a Swiffer WetJet floor cleaner. Got it seven dollars cheaper than anywhere else I�d looked.
And lest anyone think that shopping list is too mundane for words, I also found myself a cute new purse for fall. A Nine & Co. �Gretchen� satchel, dark green logo print, trimmed in dark brown.

40% off, thank you verra much.
In addition to getting some shopping done, I also went slightly berserk on the home front again this weekend.

Outdoor chores: Pool closed up�vacuumed, drained, treated, pump and filter disconnected, drained and stored in the garage, ladder pulled, summer cover dried and stowed, pillow float inflated and installed, winter cover put on and fastened down.
DONE.

Cleaning chores: straightening, vacuuming, dusting, scrubbing kitchen and bath, washing the floors with my new floor cleaner. And mucho dishwashing.

Laundry chores: addition to doing up the usual 5 or so weekly loads, I also dealt with washing up the throw rugs, and a further 2 loads to wash up the four new sets of sheets I just bought.

Cooking Chores: I not only got up Sunday morning and made Spouse a hot breakfast�bacon, scrambled eggs, toast and coffee�I also made Sunday dinner to his specifications.
The menu? Honey-glazed roast chicken, homemade mashed potatoes and gravy, fresh green beans lightly steamed and tossed in butter, and baking powder biscuits.
One spoiled rotten lil shit, ain�t he?

Extra Credit chores: I did the semi-annual turnout of the china cabinet, polishing all the glassware, cleaning the glass door panels, and giving it a good dusting inside and out. I still need to do my curio cabinet, though, before the dining room sparkles to my satisfaction. And I cleaned out the bottom shelf of the linen cupboard�a necessity, since I had to make room for four sets of sheets. I managed to pitch out half a garbage bag of threadbare rags and relegated an equal amount to the rags shelf in the laundry room, to use as paint drops. This just a part of the linen closet project; I�m tackling a shelf or two at a time till it�s done.
So that was my weekend, pretty much.
Oh�we also went out to dinner at South Woods of Cudahy on Saturday night. Spouse and I love that place for their fabulous 1970s-style steak dinners. Killer rib-eye, real baked potato with sour cream and chives, soup AND salad, and real iced tea. Old school supper club. Love it. Well, except for the fact that they let people smoke in the dining room.

And we went to Sendik�s after, to do a light grocery shop. Picked up some great coffee, marvelous produce, and a roasting chicken that was simply astounding.
As for my weekly TV viewing, I don�t have much to say. I found both shows rather disappointing and unsatisfying last night. Might have just been my mood, though. I was feeling kind of blah after a demanding weekend.

Reading: "Indigo Slam", an Elvis Cole novel by Robert Crais. "Halfway House", by Ellery Queen

Surfing: Edited to remove dead link that was taken over by a German pooorn site.

Listening: Graham Parker, The Verve, Patti Smith.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com