rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















pulling a birthday out of a hat
September 30, 2008

So I sign into yahoo to read my email this morning, and find a heart-wrenching email from my bff. It's her birthday, and she was sad. Her partner disappointed her--she was expecting no cake, no gift, no whoop-tee-do.

Given the way I've been feeling, I was hoping to push off my own plans for her birthday tribute for a couple of days. But this was clearly a cry for help.

Birthday whoop-tee-do is very important to W. And even if she gets it, but it doesn't actually happen ON her birthday, it may as well have not happened at all. So...timing is apparently crucial.

So I when I got off work, I drove to Best Buy and bought "The Whole Bean" (Mr. Bean box set), then went over to Woodman's and picked a carrot cake (her favorite)out of their ready-made case, and had them write "Happy Birthday W--" on it. Ran over to the baking aisle for candles, then to the card aisle and picked up a funny card with a pun (long-standing birthday card tradition)and wrapping. Came home and let the dog out for a while, wrapped the gift, and called W to say I was coming over.

By 6:30, I was at my best friend's door with cake, card, and wrapped gift--exactly where I should have been.

I can manage to get my shit together when I have to, you know.

She seemed pretty glad to see me. I didn't say anything about the email, since her partner was right there. I figure she knew I'd gotten it. And since her expectations of T had largely been true (she did get a gift, but no cake or card), she was happy with the cake. And "Mr.Bean". She even got a little emotional (NOT her thing).

Tired and drag-ass as I am, it feels good to just go do the right thing.



Reading: "A Light in the Window", by Jan Karon.

Surfing: No time for it today.

Listening: AC/DC, J. Geils Band, Stevie Ray Vaughan.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com