rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















since last we spoke�
August 25, 2008

�I finished watching Mad Men Season 1. And when I say finished watching, I mean watching all the episodes, listening all to the commentaries, and eating up all the featurettes. I devoured this show. I�m looking forward to the current season to be out on DVD. I�m sorry�due to my unwillingness to spend any more money than I already do on television viewing, I refuse to upgrade to a 21st century Dish system and a DVR. And without those, it�s just too unwieldy to watch a series. I�ll wait; I�m from a generation that grew up without any options in television watching, so I have patience on my side.


�I finished with the procrastination, and ghosted that article for my mom. Writing about my brother tore me the everlovingmotherfuck up, and it really pissed me off that my mom stuck me with the task rather than just telling the guy she couldn�t do it. Obviously it tore her up so bad she couldn�t do it�why would you prefer to dump that on your daughter rather than disappoint a relative stranger?

But this is an old, old story with my mom�she has always sacrificed her family�s happiness to her insane insecurities. She�d rather be a fleeting good thought in the brain of a mere passerby than loved and respected by her own children.

Well, actually, that�s not quite true. She certainly would prefer to be loved and respected by her own children. But she�s completely oblivious to cause and effect, and can never be made to understand that putting complete strangers ahead of flesh and blood is going to have some negative consequences. She is honestly clueless as to why we think she�s let us down.
�My monkey got a bloody nose. Which isn�t on this list, but it ought to be.
�I spent a significant portion of the weekend with a double-barreled case of both stress-gut AND cramps, and doubled over in pain, on or off the toilet�but mostly on.
�Went to this place for lunch on Saturday. It was okay, and beat the heck out of burgers, and they claim to be really healthy. Of course, one always has the option to wreck that through personal choice. I�m never ordering the (rice) noodles again. Too much salt. I got one of those evil blood pressure headaches after. According to their website, I can reduce the sodium from 1656 to 269 mgs just by having the steak teriyaki over rice instead (1387 mgs difference!!!). But I will definitely eat there again.
�I�ve been feeling sooooo fucking out of sorts. Dunno whether it is work, or the weirdly fluctuating weather, summer ending, or hormonal surges, or depression, or what the fuck, or all of the above. I�m just feeling really, really unhappy. And when reading the verse of Ogden Nash isn�t cheering me up, I know I�m down and then some..

Reading: "The Best of Ogden Nash�, edited by Linell Nash Smith and �Death in Holy Orders�, by P. D. James.

Beading: Silver-lined clear seeds and bugles strung randomly, with a pale blue Czech firepolish faceted oval or Chinese bicone thrown in periodically. It�s just sort of a desultory activity, really�something to do with my hands. No inspiration involved.

Surfing: Bob Logan�s Viewmaster reels. Another great find via scrubbles.

Listening: Marcy Playground, Dire Straits, The B-52s.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com