rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















odd bits of random thought
August 20, 2008

I've been reading "The Vicious Circle: Mystery and Crime Stories by Members of the Algonquin Round Table" (edited by Otto Penzler).
You know what? They don't hold up as well as I had hoped. And there are several pieces that are only very tangentially crime or mystery-related--I suspect Penzler was reaching a bit in the spirit of inclusion. He wanted representation by all the main denizens of The Rose Room, even if he had to stretch a point.


I am totally in thrall to Matthew Weiner's genius. "Mad Men" is brilliant, gorgeous, and friggin' addictive.

But there was something bothering me about Elizabeth Moss's Peggy, and I couldn't put my finger on it for the longest time. Last night, it hit me.

She looks like someone took Brendan Fraser's head, stuck it on her body, and then gave it a ponytail and bangs. (Bren's a gorgeous guy, but I wouldn't want it to happen to me.)

And I found out Moss is a clam, which really creeped me out.

But after forty years, I still have a monster crush on Bobby Morse.
My job is going to be what kills me. Whether I have a heart attack, a stroke, a car wreck during my commute, or end up eating a gun, my death will be attributable to my employers.
Trying to write this piece about my brother and his dog is just making me feel like shit for not spending enough time with him before he died.

And it has awakened some fairly sound asleep issues I have with my mom.

I would just like to point out that if I had ever asked her to do one of my assignments for me--she would have laughed in my face, slapped me in the mouth, or (probably) both.
The original, crunchy Oats & Honey flavor Nature Valley Granola Bars, (in the green wrapper), continue to be the bomb. I guess after all these years, I still like my granola bars in the "original green death flavor".
No matter what food it's added to, cilantro always manages to smell like someone just vomited dirty dishwater.
I'm told by my best friend and her spouse that I'm an amazingly LAG-friendly sort. Maybe that's just because I was the honor attendant at their civil union, but whatever. So am I really so far out of line when I dip into the vernacular of my youth and say "that's so gay"?

My use of that expression dates back to my grade school days in the early seventies. Long before I knew anything at all about any kind of sex. And it has only ever had one definition--lame. So I probably won't give it up, and I don't pity those who can't use rational thought to make the distinction.
Hearty congratulations to Ellen DeGeneres and Portia de Rossi on their nuptials.Not being to plugged in to the whole entertainment media thing, this took me by surprise, but warmed my heart.

Reading: "The Vicious Circle: Mystery and Crime Stories by Members of the Algonquin Round Table", Edited by Otto Penzler.

Beading: Not at the moment.

Surfing: I haven't had a lick of time to do so. Well, I suppose I could have, but screw that--I'm still devouring my Season One Mad Men DVDs, and I certainly don't get enough time to do both. Oh--wait a minute. I looked this subject up at work today.

Listening: Jane's Addiction, Violent Femmes, Patty Griffin

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com