rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















postage (over)due
August 11, 2008

I've been screamingly, horribly busy lately, and the sad part is, it hasn't been anything interesting enough to write about. A lot of work at the office, a lot of housework at home.

I did do a small amount of socializing...I spent Friday evening over at W & T's place; we gabbed and bitched about work, played some cards, and ate Chinese food.

Saturday night, Spouse and I went out with P & E; a place down on the water in Milwaukee, called "Riptide". Reasonably good seafood, exceptional companions.


Work has been brutal lately, and no sign of it letting up anytime soon. I was really pulling for one of my projects to get cancelled, but infortunately, they've decided to go ahead with the ill-concieved, expensive, unprofitable, and ridicuculously complex mess.

And my other current major project is giving me major pain this week, as we are hosting a two-day "visit" from some folks that have been causing me nothing but pain since May. Here's the thing:
We are replacing one of our outside vendors with a company we own. At first glance, that seems like a great idea. But from a practical standpoint, it is hell. Because outside vendors? Would be treating us like a goddamn customer right about now, instead of shitting all over us and blowing us off for months at a time.

We are throwing this business their way in an effort to keep them from dying, but if they treat all their clients like they've been treating us...I can really see why they are hurting so bad.
I finally got the promised gift card, for working overtime. It wasn't a gift card, though--it was an American Express gift check. And since it was a little something extra, I decided I could afford to buy myself the Mad Men DVDs. I even got the limited edition, that comes in a box shaped like a Zippo lighter. What the heck--it's all Wally-World had in stock, anyway, and they were getting the same for it as most places get for the regular package.

Now, I just have to decide if I'm going to binge on these, or spread them out over a few weeks. Yeah, like I have a choice--I'll probably end up watching them in real series time--one a week.

On the way home from dinner Saturday, Spouse and I stopped at Barnes and Noble. That is usually a prescription for disappointment, but this time I got lucky. I found a Jan Burke I've never read. They had a copy of "Bloodlines", from the Irene Kelly series.

And when I went trolling through the general fiction, I found...well, the author insists it isn't, but to me it's definitely the seventh "Tales of the City" book. "Michael Tolliver Lives".

A title that's dear to me, as someone who has been long-bewitched by the denizens of 28 Barbary Lane. And considering what Michael has been through since 1976, it's doubly dear.

So, with reading, and watching DVDs. And even swimming, (when it gets warm enough out--What the Fuck, August?), beading is once again relegated to the back burner.

Now--I really want to go watch Mad Men.

Reading: "Michael Tolliver Lives", by Armistead Maupin. Oh, My beloved Michael Mouse, and Mrs. Madrigal.

Beading: No Time. I've got DVDs to watch.

Surfing: Boom Pop! Thannks to scrubbles for the link.

Listening: A bunch of Pete Townshend.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com