rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Harrison Bergeron Day
August 06, 2008

My brain is utterly fried from 8 1/2 hours of the torture that is my job. Torture that consists of tasks requiring deep concentration, combined with nearly incessant interruptions. Not brief interruptions, either. Brief, I can usually handle. It takes 5 minutes to make me forget what I was working on, and my interruptions average about 7 minutes. It takes 15-20 minutes to get back into the groove, and the frequency of interruption is about every 25 minutes.

But deadlines are still deadlines, oooh...you bet.

And when the sun came out a little bit ago, I figured a few laps in the pool would be my cure for my poor sauteed brains. It kind of was, but I noticed there is a tinge of murk to the water, and now I'm all obsessive about it, and it's driving me crazy.



Reading: "Goodnight, Irene", by Jan Burke.

Beading: Not in the mood.

Surfing: Mpls: Long Gone One of the many interesting nooks and crannies of Lileks's virtual attic.

Listening: Porgy and Bess. Leontyne Price, and it's a very good version. But not my favorite version--that's an ancient, uncredited cassette dub, originally taken from a Time-Life Collection LP, that I've had for decades. And if I knew how to get a new copy, I'd do it in a minute.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com