rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















black Friday
July 25, 2008

The night was way, way, too short. I was deep in the throes of dream-heavy REM sleep when the alarm went off. This is never good, since it means I will be a zombie pretty much all day. TGIF, and a gray, dismal Friday at that.

insane in the slow lane
And in addition, to the above, the morning traffic was hellish. Huge numbers of semis, a stream of traffic out of Wisconsin that looked like they were evacuating the whole freakin� state, and an idiot who managed to have a breakdown in the middle of a construction zone and tie up interstate traffic for seven miles.

This would be nasty on any day. But it was particularly irritating this morning, being completely out of character for a summer Friday. It�s usually the one day that the commute is a quick zip down the tollway.

The ducks didn�t help any, either. I got stuck in the gridlock, next to an entire tractor-trailer full of smelly, noisy, live ducks. So much for keeping the window down, eh? And once I finally got to the office, things REALLY got bad.

They fired two of my oldest friends at the company today
People with whom I go back nearly 13 years.
One of whom sat next to me, and was a close friend.
A single mom, with a mortgage.

When they tapped me on the shoulder and dragged me over to the corner to break the bad news, I had my headphones in. Listening to Steely Dan's "Black Friday". Sometimes life DOES come with a soundtrack, I guess.


Once I got home from work, Spouse and I grabbed some lunch and did some weekend mini-break planning for next weekend--he has an itch to get away, and so we are going around the lake to SW Michigan; a bit of exploring and winery-visiting. I booked us a room in Kalamazoo, and I'm going to try and get hold of D, who lives near Grand Rapids--see if we can't set up a visit.

And once he left for work, I succumbed to the fatigue and stress that had been dragging me down all day. I slept from 3:30 till 7:22. Nap much?

Now, of course, I'm UP up, revved and ready--but what to do? Well...when in doubt, bake.
I just took an apple galette rustica out of the oven. Something simple and easy--and I had all the ingredients on hand, so there we are. I used Pink Lady apples, which are not a baking apple, but that's all I buy for eating, so that's what I had. But they are nice and tart, and for a galette, you don't want anything too mushy and runny. It smells heavenly, that's for sure.

Here's a pic. I couldn't get the color right on the photo--it looks much more golden and yummy in person.

Yeah, when I'm feeling sad and stressed, I have two predictable behaviors. I sleep a lot, and I retreat to the kitchen.

Two for two, I guess.

Reading: "The Regatta Mystery and Other Stories"--still Agatha Christie.

Beading: Necklace and earrings with cobalt-blue beads. I finished the earrings, but I'm not happy with the necklace yet.

Surfing: Matthew Weiner Interview Now that it is on DVD, I have a feeling I'm going to get into Mad Men. I wanted too from the very beginning, but honestly--those damn commercial breaks on AMC just killed it for me.

Listening: BTO, The Who, John Mellencamp�and�shades of the creepy�Steely Dan. See Above.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com