rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















who doesn�t like cake?
July 24, 2008

Yeah, the cake was a hit. In fact, it turned out to be a fairly awesome potluck. Sure, you always get a certain percentage of people who bring the store cakes or bags of chips, but we had a better than average turnout for actual, homemade food this time. Including barbequed pulled pork and chicken, and someone who set up an entire salad bar. Which included cukes, lettuces, green onions, and bell peppers from her own garden.

Really, really great food. But by the end of the day, we were all walking around moaning and yawning and complaining of headaches�tragically, toxically overfed. Woof.

I could have easily had a Thursday night crash by the time I got home from work, but I had a dental check-up at 5:30. And it was nearly 7:00 by the time I got home from that. No cavities, though. And everyone at my dentist�s office is a theatre geek, so it�s always fun to be there. They�ve also upgraded to a digital x-ray system since my last visit, which I like. No more icky, sharp cardboard films in the mouth.

So, I had a choice when I got home�stretch out and snore, or suit up and swim.

So. Once I got out of the pool�

Seriously, I did take a nice swim, and that (as always) perked me up no end. So I watered the flowers and the tomato, had a nice chat with my next-door neighbor (who has just taken in her grown daughter and two grandchildren under two years old!) for a while. Then I came in and ate some cereal, since (at 8:00pm) I was finally starting to feel a little bit hungry again. Futzed around on the �net, did a few evening chores, and finally�at 10:00�zonked out for the night.



Reading: "The Man in the Brown Suit"-- Agatha Christie.

Beading: A simple strung necklace with cobalt-blue seed beads and a mix of larger cobalt bead and blue and white furnace glass. Matching earrings--silver lever-backs with blue and white furnace glass and silver rounds on silver paddle pins.

Surfing: The 1947 project Oh, my friggin' gawd, this is made of awesome. Not updated terribly recently, but I�m amusing myself hugely by reading through the site archives.

Listening: Dr. Hook, Al Stewart, Joel Grey.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com