rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















short weekend
July 28, 2008

I ended up working yesterday. I went into the office for a few hours to do some validations. I wasn't going to, but they rolled out the bribes. Double time, plus a $25 gift card. I figured that'd make up for the gas, with profit to spare, so I went for it.

It's kind of fun to go into the office on Sunday, actually. The commute in took all of 30 minutes, since there's no traffic to speak of at 7:00 am on Sunday. And there's no one around at work to interrupt you and stop you getting done what you've come to do.

However; coming home from the office was a pure-D bitch. My route between work and home is the Tri-State tollway, and said tollway, besides being one solid construction zone, is also the direct route to an amusement park, 2 outlet malls, and a Ren Faire.

Yeah, midday traffic on a Sunday in high summer? Zoosville.


Other than that, my weekend consisted of errands and housework and laundry and swimming, with some light reading and beading thrown in for good measure. It was Spouse's turn to have a Sunday bug, so we just took it easy yesterday afternoon and evening.

I was supposed to be getting a cheap ticket to the Harley 105th from an old buddy, but she ended up giving it back to her ex, 'cause he made a stink about her selling it. I have to say I'm not entirely bummed--I don't really want to go. The Harley thing is his, not mine.

And I tried to set up a meeting with my gal D, but naturally, she's going to be on MY side of the lake next weekend, when I'm over on hers. Shit.
Speaking of next weekend...I asked for Friday off, but my boss never got back to me before she left on a two-day business trip. One can only hope she keeps an eye on her emails, but knowing her (she can't keep a handle on her inbox when she's actually in the office), I'm scrod. Oh, well. I'll have to make do with Friday afternoon and evening to get the house cleaned, laundry done, bags packed, errands run, dog dropped off, and all the other chores dealt with.

It's the old, old, story. He can afford to be all free-spirited and shit, because he doesn't have to do all the hard work that goes into a road trip.
FYI:
Friday's galette rustica turned out to be phenomenal. The crust was flaky and crisp, the apple filling was ambrosial. I'm never using anything but Pink Ladies for baking, ever again. And using a complex spice blend doesn't hurt, either. I used a mix of Korintje cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, ground orange peel, cloves, and ginger. Beats the hell out of plain old cinnamon, or even Granny's apple pie spice.

Reading: "The Clocks" Yes, it is another Christie. Well, in all fairness, I do own a helluva lot of Agatha Christies.

Beading: Necklace and earrings with beads. I finished the earrings, but I'm still not happy with the cobalt-blue necklace yet. Took a break to re-string my short string of brown, gold, and amber glass beads, so I could wear it today.

Surfing: A nifty bit of geeky technological history, at Push. Click. Touch.

Listening: WXRT. This morning�s playlist included the following: Neil Young, Duffy, Train, The Nails, Ingrid Michaelsson, Matchbox 20, and Dexy�s Midnight Runners. Yeah...random. They kind of do their own thing.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com