rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















relief
July 11, 2008

Well, I lucked out, and no one stole Mr. Pilkington from my unlocked drawer last night. That's a huge relief, because it�s a crapshoot around there if you leave anything valuable laying around over night. Even if you stick in a drawer, it can get nicked if the drawer is unlocked. That�s how my buddy lost her first iPod.

But he's home safe. I stuck him him on the AC speed charger and got my tunes back. I even did some maintenance�cleared the stuff off I�m sick of and loaded something different.


It turned suddenly and wickedly shitty last evening, with evil thunderstorms and heavy rain. And being absolved from any yard work by these circumstances, I took advantage. I queued up some episodes of "Would I Lie To You?", stretched out on the bed, and cuddled up to The Beeler for a relaxing evening of screamingly funny David Mitchell and super-cuddly pooch.

Talk about some high-grade therapy. I slept like a baby after a couple of hours of that.
Considering the weather reports, and the ominous black sky as I drove home from work today, I didn't figure to get in any pool time. But never under-estimate the quirkiness of SE Wisconsin weather. I just came in from a lovely hour of puttering around in the pool. I vacuumed, and then got in a delightful paddle/float session. Carpe Lacus, I guess. It's supposed to get icky again later this evening.

Now, I have to say, I'm feeling peckish. But there isn't anything to eat around here, and I have no intention of changing into actual clothes (I'm wearing an oversized Harley Shirt, ratty knit shorts, and nothing else), so I'm limited to Italian (the only cuisine that's delivered around here) or drive-thru. And I don't want to wait the usual 90 minutes it takes to get a pizza on a Friday night, so it looks like I throw on some flip-flops and head over to the local slops outlet for a quarter-pounder.

Reading: "Vanishing Point", by Patricia Wentworth. A �Miss Silver�.

Beading: Given the weather forecast for the weekend, I'll be spending at least a little bit of time on that woven bracelet project I�ve been slagging off all week.

Surfing: McSweeney�s. Shed Camp.

Listening: Supertramp��Breakfast in America�. Ah, the classics of my youth. And some Bob Welch, as long as I'm wallowing in the late 1970s.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com