rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















sometimes you're just sick
July 10, 2008

Sometimes, I tend to get a little over-analytical about how I feel. After spending a couple of days misery, compounded by my trying to pinpoint the cause of my wretchedness, I awoke yesterday to a simple conclusion. You're just plain sick, ya dummy.

So I killed the alarm, rolled over, and slept till six. Then I got up, took the dog out, called in to work, and crashed again, till ten. I'd have stayed in bed after that, but Spouse was up by then and it was just too annoying to try and sleep with him rattling around. Even after I moved to the living room, though, I kept nodding off. So I went back to bed after a while, and slept more. Pretty much killed the day that way. Didn't even hear Spouse leave for work.

Of course, I eventually slept myself out, so I spent the evening kicking around the Internet--mostly watching hilarious British quiz shows on YouTube.


I find an endless delight in shows like "QI", "Would I Lie to You", "Never Mind the Buzzcocks", and "Have I Got News for You".
This was the kind of entertainment I used to get from BBC America, before they went all lame. What with the soapy shite like "Footballer's Wives" and cheap "reality" shows like "What Not to Wear" and "Great British Pigsties "How Clean is Your House?", the endless re-runs of Bargain Hunt and Cash in the Attic, and that one show with the obnoxious bitch who accosts people in public, brow-beating them about their dietary habits, or--wait, I'm not done--shock-value freak-shows like "Transvestite Wives" or "My Big Breasts and Me".

***Deep Breath***

BBC America really sucks these days.

Fortunately, there's always some kindly Brit sticking this stuff on YT, one step ahead of the copyright police, and allowing the rest of the world a chance to laugh along with smart and funny people with great accents.

And after a good dose of humor therapy, I went to bed again. And all that day-long, serial napping didn't cause one iota of disruption to a full night's sleep. Like I said. Sometimes, you are just sick.
So I woke up fairly refreshed this morning. More or less ready to start the day, anyway. My back hurts a bit (too much bed-time), and I still hate and dread my fucking employment, but I waded back into the fray anyway.

And spent the day doing anything I could to drown out the pig in the next cube. He's back from vacation, and more annoying than ever.

Mental Note: NEVER let Mr. Pilkington's battery get to low to play, ever again.)

AAAAAGGGGHHHH! FURTHER Mental Note!
Don't let Mr. Pilkington's battery get to low to play--And then forget to bring him home!!

Reading: "Vanishing Point", by Patricia Wentworth. A classic British cozy featuring Miss Silver.

Beading: If I ever get down to it, I'll be working on a woven bracelet in light green, lavender and pale blue bicones surrounded by carnival-finish seed beads.

Surfing: Archie McPhee. I want this bag! WANT!

Listening: According to the MP3 readout, I was listening to Gene Vincent, The Everly Brothers, and...Low Battery. Shit.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com