rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















my brother's 41st birthday
July 08, 2008

...would have been today, if he'd managed to hold on this long.

After nearly 17 months, I think I'm coping pretty well, but then some little thing will come along and set me off with a reaction that's either way more angry than I expect, or way more tearful. Just the other day, Spouse, Nephew, and I were watching old "Dragnet" re-runs (we're all Dragnet fanatics--family joke, long story)and it was the episode where they have to find the suicidal guy before the pills overtake him.

I got so pissed, it freaked Nephew out a little.


Why am I so damned tired? At first glance, it doesn't seem like I should feel so exhausted. But maybe it's the elevated levels of physical activity, or how hot it's gotten in the house the last couple of nights. Spouse cranks the temp up on the thermostat and kicks off the air when he goes to bed. It ends up getting hotter and hotter, and I get tossier and turnier, until the alarm goes off and I have to try to get ready for work in a house that has hit 83 degrees. Of course, he has it set to kick back on before HE gets up.

Or maybe I've just got a case of summer slacker syndrome, or something.

Or maybe a diet of hot dogs, pasta salad, and mexican combo platters is less than optimal for peak performance.

Or maybe I just really miss my baby brother.

Reading: "Kitchen Confidential", by Anthony Bourdain. I bought this for Spouse for an anniversary gift. Now he's done, and I'm reading it--along with Nephew, who bought a copy for himself on his uncle's reccommendation.

Beading: A woven bracelet in light green, lavender and pale blue bicones surrounded by carnival-finish seed beads. If I ever really get it started, anyway. Kind of stalled by other activities. Last night was nice enough for swimming, so the beads lost.

Surfing: The Brick Testament. Lego, The Bible, Subtextual Snark--What's not to love?

Listening: Mary Chapin Carpenter, The B-52s, T Rex.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com