rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















you don't know what you can do until you do it
June 25, 2008

That last post lit a fire under me. After I wrote, I resolved to just go do what had to be done--I moved the ladder, scrubbed and hosed it down, caried it over and placed it in the pool, and even sand-bagged it. All by myself. And all that remains for Spouse to do is strap it down for me.

The pool is OPEN. I still need to scrub down the interior walls and finish correcting the chemicals, but it has been swum in. It is open.

And naturally, the forecast is for thunderstorms for the next five days. Unfortunate, but at least today's poor weather resolved itself by the time I got home from work, and I was able to enjoy a nice, restorative swim.


And after I got inside after all that labor last night, I sat down and whipped out the mother's bracelet order.

My beads came in late yesterday, and I didn't waste any time. Of course, with not having to come up with a new design, it only took about 20 minutes, so it's not like I'm SuperBeader or anything. I just wanted it out of the way.
But damn, I'm tired, All that fresh air and exertion pooped me out, but just as I was getting ready for bed last night, I heard an awful "BANG!" outside my window. I actually didn't think too much of it. When you live in a city like this, there are all sorts of noises going on all the time. But when saw blue and red lights reflected on the windows, I went to investigate.

Somebody had wrapped their car around the light pole across the street. I never saw an ambulance, so I don't believe there were any serious injuries, but I could clearly see the passenger airbag had gone off. Given that, I wasn't horribly concerned, so I went to bed (finally) at 10:30. But what with all the hubbub, and Mr. B's reaction to the hubbub, I wasn't able to settle in to sleep for a long time. B wasn't all barky-whiny like Raji would have been, but he kept going back and forth from the bed to the front window, and when he doesn't settle, neither do I.

And when I wake up tired, sometimes I think I'm all on the ball and just fine, only to realize later that there is something screwy. I've been known to go to work with two different-colored shoes on, for example. Today it was putting on my necklace, earrings, bracelet, and watch--but forgetting to put on my rings. SO--no wedding ring today. Anybody want to go on a date?
I am fed to the teeth with management today. Wednesday is the day I have to meet with my control-freak boss and listen to her nit-pick every single thing I've done in the past week. Plus I had other meetings going on as well, including one with upper management which was just painful. Tedious, boring, and stuck for 90 minutes in a very uncomfortable chair, which made it physically painful.

Job hate. Haven't mentioned it in a while--thought I'd just slip it in.
I made a discovery last night after my swim:
Want to know how to feel like a 12-year-old again? Get out of the pool on a hot day and drink an ice-cold Orange Crush, straight from the glass bottle. Ambrosia. It awakened the very best memories of childhood.

I'll get a six-pack of the retro glass bottles at Wally's every once in a while, just for the pure joy of it. I like the occasional Mexican Coke as well--especially when it is made with cane sugar. It used to be a certainty that a "Mexi-Coke" would have sugar instead of HFCS, but I've noticed in the past year or so that some have corn syrup. If there is one thing I miss more (in the soda-pop department)than returnable bottles, it's real pop, made with real sugar.
I gotta think about getting something to eat.
I was so busy last night, I just had cornflakes (with fresh strawberries) and toast (with fresh jam) for dinner, but that--and the morning full of meetings--meant I was destined to spend this whole day hungry enough to chew my own leg off. I haven't figured out what's for dinner yet, but I know it had better be damned substantial.

So I'm tired, and hungry--but I still seem to be full of zeal. After today's swim, I sat down did some more beading. And I plan on installing a new under-cabinet light in the kitchen later. The old one died a while back, and I'm sick of trying to work in the dark. It was particularly annoying the other day when I was making jam, and I resolved to do something about it.

Yeah, summer apparently brings out my ambitious side. I had a friend ride me about that the other day. She feels guilty that summer turns her into a lazy slacker, and she says being around me exacerbates it. I told her if she played her cards right, she could probably manipulate me into doing her stuff for her, but she just laughed. Oh, well. her loss.

Reading: "Under the Banner of Heaven", by Jon Krakauer. Fundamentalist Mormons and murder.

Beading: The bead order has arrived, and the bracelet is done, boxed, delivered, and paid for. So I pulled out a box of beads from an old, favorite necklace that broke--and made a new necklace out of it.

Surfing: Kitsch City. I soooo want the Wizard of Oz Duckies.

Listening: Nick Lowe, Booker T and the MGs, Fleetwood Mac, The Greg Kihn Band.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com