rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















how dry I am
June 24, 2008

In my recent posts, I've mentioned a lot of things I've been up to, but conspicuous in its absence is swimming.

I haven't actually been in the pool yet. It has been a slow slog to get the damned thing open this year--repairs to the skimmer and the pump, filling up, draining off, and currently, a chemical correction that requires so many pounds of additives, I have to spread the treatment out over three days.

Seriously. 6 pounds of alkalinity increaser, 6 pounds of calcium, and a pound of ph increaser. And since it isn't wise to add much more than 4 pounds of additives a day, I'm stuck on the slow bleeder here.

And I still don't have my ladder cleaned up and installed. I'm thinking I need to have W come over and help me do that, since Spouse is so much less than useless these days. Not (entirely) his fault that his knee is out of commission, but still--it's awfully hard to do everything all by myself. Some things just take two people. Large, ungainly pool ladders sure do.

Maybe, just maybe--I'll get it open before July 4th.


When I told Spouse that I had plans for this weekend (I just said it was T's birthday--no need to explain dolfie weddings to the poor man), he decided to plan a trip up to central Wisconsin. He and a pal are going to go up around Lodi and go fishing, gambling, and (I suppose)there will also a judicious amount of drinking. Which is okay. I love it when he goes off and does his own thing. We don't like to spend too many weekends apart, since we don't really see each other during the week. But once in a while, it does us both good to go off and hang with our friends, instead of each other.

And it leaves me free to futz around, making my pasta salad and baked beans, hanging with the gals, and jus' chillin'.

Reading: "Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine", July 2008 issue.

Beading: The bead order has shipped and I'm (still)awaiting delivery for the next mom bracelet.

Surfing: Onion A.V. Club. Prog Rock album covers from Hell. But then, aren't they all?

Listening: Carl Perkins, Rare Earth, Soundgarden. Perhaps even more eclectic than usual.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com