rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















weekend update
June 08, 2008

John Adams has been read! I finally finished, and overall, I really enjoyed it. The main reason it took me so long was it is physically a very heavy book, and my old, sub-par hands just couldn�t hold it for the extended periods of time required to get through it.


I finally convinced Spouse to give up the floppies and back up his household accounts on a flash drive. He�s been using the A drive to back up quicken and VersaCheck for years, but the days of the A are over, and if we ever had a problem, we�d be screwed. I picked up a Sandisk flash at Office Max on Sunday and got him set up.
We got some bad news about Spouse on Friday. He has to have arthroscopic knee surgery on Tuesday, for his torn meniscus. This is bad on a couple of levels�for him, of course, since even arthroscopic knee surgery is something less than a picnic, but also for me.

You see�Spouse is a time bandit, and I will be insane by June 16th. br>
His knee surgery means I miss work and have to deal with his whiny-assed neediness. His constant presence means I don�t get to post, or watch any TV or movies, or do anything normal for me.
His being home every night means I will be expected to cook meals, serve them to him, and clean up after. With zero help from him, of course�him being a cripple and all. (Just a bit of contrast: The day I had my first hand surgery, I scheduled it so he wouldn�t have to miss any work, I walked the dog and ran the vacuum before we left for the hospital, and that evening, I made supper, then pulled on large rubber gloves and washed the fucking dishes.)
This weekend�s stormy weather was insanely nasty, and re-focused my endeavors around the house. We�re better off than a lot of people in Wisconsin�our biggest thing to deal with was taking one step forward and two steps back on the pool. We got it filled, treated, and running on Saturday morning, only to have to turn around and drain it off twice before Monday, due to the heavy rains. And I still need to pressure-wash the ladder and get it installed before I can even get in it to finish the cleaning, so I can actually swim. Oh, well�maybe by fucking July.
The rain did give me a chance to sit down and do my beading. I repaired a piece for my boss�s daughter, did the new Mother�s Bracelet for her, and now I want to try and pick a new project for myself�I bought a new type of clasp and used it on the MB, it worked out so well that now I want to use the other one I bought and make me something.
I got myself a cheap box set of classic rock at Wally�s on Saturday, and I made an interesting discovery: cheap media can display incorrectly in the MP3 player. The song data is out of order, one song name is displayed as �----------------�, and the attribution is off, leading to such interesting confusion as Rick Derringer being listed as the artist on Mott the Hoople�s �All the Young Dudes�.

You get what you pay for, I guess.

Reading: "Murder at the Vicarage", by Agatha Christie.

Beading: Order came Saturday morning; completed the bracelet Saturday afternoon. Repaired the original, for keepsake purposes, on Sunday. Now I�m trying to pick a new project.

Surfing: The Journal of Cartoon Overanalyzations. My favorite: �The main characters on Ed, Edd n Eddy on Cartoon Network could represent the ID, Ego, and Superego. Ed is a free spirit who always wants to have fun. Edd �Double-D� is more reserved and nervous and makes the perfect Super-ego. Finally, Eddy is the ego, which balances out the other other two.�

Listening: Carl Perkins, Chicago, T Rex.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com