rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















hectic weekend
May 05, 2008

Saturday came early this week. I had to be in the office at six am for a project implementation, so I was up around four.

Once I got home from work and roused Spouse, we headed to the local plastic products factory for their annual warehouse sale. They didn�t have any storage bins or flowerpots of a size that would be useful to me (bins were all too small, pots too big), but I got a nice dog food storage container for six bucks�the same one I looked at last Christmas at The Container Store, priced at $19.99, so that was a bargain. I picked up a couple of other items, and we were given a Martha Stewart pencil box just for showing up. Apparently those were not exactly K-Mart�s biggest seller.

Then we drove out to Antioch so Spouse could buy some jeans; for some reason they sell his size at that Wally�s, but not at any of the ones closer to home. While we were there we did the grocery shopping and picked up a few things I needed around the house. And by then, we were ready for lunch.

And lunch in Antioch means one thing to Spouse�The Las Vegas. A venerable and wonderful �Greek coffee shop� restaurant in downtown Antioch, and one that has a long history with me and Spouse. A hangout for both of us since before we were dating, and the very place where our relationship turned �serious�, way back in 1983. Lots of fond memories, there. And a lot of club sandwiches under the bridge.

And fortunately, although the d�cor has changed, not much else has. The food is still as good as ever. I had the Reuben and Spouse had the veal cutlet lunch special, both old standbys. And behind the register, the same guy that has always been behind the register. Whether you would go for brunch, lunch, dinner, or an early breakfast after the bars closed, since the seventies, it�s always been the same guy to take my money. I have no idea when he sleeps, or if he sleeps at all. But except for his hair, (a little whiter, a little thinner) he looks exactly the same. After 29 years, it�s a little unnerving.

By the time we got home, and we�d carried it all in, and I�d put it all away, and I�d brewed two fresh batches of iced tea (plain for him, peach for me) and whipped up a batch of cole slaw for to go with the fish and chips I had planned for dinner�I hit the wall. Crashed on the couch with a blanket and a DVD, and passed out cold for a couple of hours.


Between having to work on Saturday morning, then running errands on Saturday afternoon, I didn�t get much housework accomplished. So naturally, that meant Sunday was a whirlwind of cleaning, laundry, mending, errands that got overlooked on Saturday, and even cooking and baking. I managed to make it through about eighty percent of my to do list by noon, through a dogged persistence and being just pissed enough to not care about disturbing his lordship. I eventually drove him out of the house entirely�he went out and fiddled with his bike and car for a while just to avoid me.

By afternoon, I was ready for a break, and since Spouse was feeling troubled by a dream he�d had the night before (about visiting his dad�s grave), we took a nice afternoon drive out to the Veteran�s Cemetery to pay our respects. It was a gorgeous day for it�sunny, light breeze, low seventies. Couldn�t ask for a nicer Sunday in May. When we got home, I went back into laundry mode, baked a four-berry cobbler for work (yet another food day on Monday!) and even managed to take a few minutes to sit in the swing, relishing the sun on my upturned face. Toting up the weekend:
  • Worked a half-day on Saturday
  • Did the grocery/Wally�s/drugstore shopping
  • Made homemade coleslaw, 2 kinds of fresh iced tea, and a berry cobbler.
  • Did 6 loads of wash
  • Washed the dishes 5 times
  • Mended a pair of pants and Spouse�s good Harley sweatshirt.
  • Vacuumed, dusted, swept, disinfected, and scrubbed most of my house.
  • Visited Papa�s grave
  • Cooked fish and chips
  • Cooked steak and (the rest of the) chips

I still have stuff that I want to get done before we leave on vacation, though. There is still all the bedding to be washed, and more cleaning that I want to get done. And all the clothes to get ready and the packing to do. I told Spouse that I needed a man vacation�the kind where you get to just pick up your suitcase and GO. I just get the woman vacation, where you work your fucking ass off for two weeks before and another week after, because the work doesn�t stop just because you�ve booked a flight.

I think that was the straw that sent him out to the garage, actually.
Between the hellish pollen levels and the aches and pains from a busy weekend, I felt justified in popping a couple of Tylenol PMs last night. I don�t normally bother with Tylenol, the most worthless �pain reliever� ever, but the PMs at least have a dose of Benadryl in them, which will knock me out so I don�t have to deal with the pain. And it helps me breathe better, so that�s a bonus. But downside is--when they wear off, I pop up like a cork in the ocean, wide awake. Which I did this morning at about three-thirty. Even the warm cuddliness of the B couldn�t lull me back to slumber. I lay there until the alarm went off, thinking about work. I hate when my brain does that to me�they take enough of my life, dammit. They certainly don�t deserve the hour between 3:30 and 4:30 AM.

So now I�m tired, and my low back and knee are aching dully, and I�m certainly glad I have chiro tonight. I might even spring for a few minutes on the automated massage table, to perk me up.

Reading: �John Adams�, by David McCullough.

Surfing: Monty on Movies. One of the Damn Hell Ass Kings sites.

Listening: Shuffling along. I loaded some more Foxboro Hot Tubs onto Mr. Pilkington, along with �Blues Brothers - The Definitive Collection�, and some Gordon Lightfoot.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com