rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















good shop/bad shop
April 14,

Went clothes shopping this weekend--Penney�s was having a great sale, and I found a gorgeous new swimsuit, three pairs of shorts, and a couple of tops--and five new bras. Everything was on sale, and the bras were a particular buy at $10.86 apiece. Spouse got a new pair of trunks--also on sale--and then we hit Wally�s for new underwear and socks. New undies! I couldn�t wait to break out a brand new pair when I got dressed yesterday morning.

So of course, in comes the red tide yesterday afternoon. Only three weeks after the last one, but making a special appearance just to wreck a brand new pair.

And we went to the bookstore yesterday. Funny how much I used to look forward to a trip to Barnes & Noble or Borders. But of late, it seems to be one more exercise in futility. It isn�t like I�m seeking out the obscure. I was looking for recent titles from Lisa Gardner, Cokie Roberts, Ruth Rendell, and Jasper Fforde. Zero, zip, zilch, and nada.

Too bad I wasn�t looking for insipid romance or fluffy �chick lit�; they had that crap in spades.

I did get the latest issues of EQMM and AHMM, and I found �Transgressions�, a book of novellas edited by Ed McBain, on the remaindered rack. 10 novella, by Sharyn McCrumb, Stephen King, Lawrence Block, Donald Westlake, and so on? For $6.98 in hardcover? Yes Please. But as for not being able to find any of the most recent titles for four writers who practically live on the best seller lists? Cripes. I guess it�s back to the web.


I had chiro today, and got popped and snapped within an inch of my life. He cracked my neck so much I bellowed out a huge WOW! That I�m sure was heard everyone in the place. But it wasn�t a moment too soon. I�ve been in agony--my hip was so bad I was getting teary-eyed just walking up the front steps of the place. And after the heinous day I had at work, I was miserably tense and clenchy.

I feel somewhat better now. Good enough where I don�t want to rehash the details of my miserable work day. Suffice it to say that it was another one of those days where I spent a full 50% of it in meetings. At least I�ve stopped twitching.
7 out of 10 nails agree--�We want to be short!� After breaking, tearing, and downright shredding 70% of my manicure, I gave up and filed them all down evenly. I didn�t even bother to re-polish them. Time to give them a breather for a while. They should be looking good again by vacation in a month.

Reading: Finished "Unfinished Business", by Nora Roberts. And after I realized the paperback had THREE novels in it, not one, I read "Island Of Flowers", as well. But I kind of wandered off in the middle of the third--"Mind Over Matter". It was about a Hollywood agent who was a psychic. Yeah.

Now reading: The current issue (March/April 2008) of Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine.

Surfing: Flip Words.

Listening: What the shuffle option kicked up today: "Sittin' Up At Night", Augie Meyers. "Knocking on Heaven's Door", Leningrad Cowboys. "Mother Mary", Foxboro Hot Tubs.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com