rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















life's a snit and then you die
April 09, 2008

I re-read what I wrote yesterday about the code-monkey craziness, and it comes across as a tad too negative. Here's the thing--
I really kind of enjoyed the hell out of it. It's the only tiny little out-of-the-way corner of my job that I love. Or even like, for that matter. And I don't get to do it very often.

So, even though my coding from yesterday didn't work, I'm happy. Because I get to do it some more.

Also--I wrote it based on the info I had been provided, which turned out to be incomplete. So it isn't entirely my fault.


Still in a bit of a mood, though. Still mostly directed at Spouse, too. I'm not over being pissed at him on the Mother's Day thing, plus I fail to see why somebody with a shorter workshift and a negligible commute can't get his shit together enough to go to the damned grocery store when he needs something.

Oh, that's right. If he wanted to do that, he wouldn't have gotten himself a slave, would he?

And he's so willfully deluded, which frosts me no end. He's all amazed at how "cooperative" I'm being over vacation plans, and he thinks I'm all into it.

Actually, how hard is it to be agreeable about stuff when you have zero interest in the entire trip?

I mean--I'm already stuck going to a place I came right out and said I don't want to go to, departing on a day I already had other plans for, and spending money we should be using to fix the plumbing.

At this point,since it doesn't matter in the least WHAT I say, I might as well be agreeable. It's easier on me in the long run.
I mentioned yesterday how I never hear from the Iowa contingent unless there is illness or death involved. The Iowa contingent, I should clarify, has an Arizona branch. I heard from them today.
Guess what about?
Their dog is sick and dying.

In all fairness, Auntie did rattle on about a variety of things, but nestled in there amongst the weather and the summer travel plans and the grandmotherly bragging was that little nugget about Toto.

Proving the rule.

Reading: "Unfinished Business", by Nora Roberts. I'm trying. But that title may turn out to be prophetic.

Surfing: Office Diversions.

Listening: 2 very different songs called "Will You Remember Me?" one by Jann Arden, one by Sarah McLachlan. And a weirdly awesome cover of The Carpenters' "It's Going to Take Some Time". By Dishwalla.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com