rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















return of the snit
April 08, 2008

So I got over my snit yesterday, due to the crazyfast delivery of Nephew's birthday gift. Ordered Friday, received Monday--seriously! I can't get a card through the mail that fast! And I was further soothed by the arrival at Wal-Mart of Mom's Mother's Day gift. I was feeling much better.

So I turned my attention to the whole vacation thing, even though I wasn't that interested, since I cannot begin to describe how very much over Las Vegas I am.

And got pissed all over again. The man has been in on my Mother's Day plans for a while now. He knows I am making a big deal out of it. He knows I bought my mother a freakin' sewing machine, as a gift for freakin' Mother's Day!

Uh, yeah. He did, actually. He scheduled our departure for May 11th.

My eye is twitching.


Change the subject. Product review: Sally Hansen Diamond Strength No Chip Nail Color (shade: Rose Petals) is some runny shit. It goes on like water. And takes roughly a week to dry. And it costs $4.79 a bottle, which seemed reasonable until I tried to use it. Now it seems outrageous.

Of course.I finally found the perfect shade of pink, and it's a product that sucks. That's what I get for buying drugstore polish.
Still too negative. Change the subject again. Ummm...I like my new adaptor! I made him buy Montague an accesory on Sunday; an MP3 to cassette adaptor for the Retro-Rocket, so I can listen to my downloads in the car. I tried it out yesterday and after a bit of fiddling to figure out the volume control (requires volume turned up on both car stereo and MP3 player), I decided I like it. Once I get some good playlists sorted out, I'll probably love it, but for right now, it's kind of hard to browse music and drive at the same time. I don't have that kind of a commute.
Some sad news--I heard from my sister-in-law; she wanted to let me know that they lost their cat to old age and illness over the weekend. Willie was 13, and he was in awfully bad shape, so it was a mercy--but he was a cool old kitty, and I felt bad for all of them. It's never easy to lose a member of the family like that.

I wouldn't mind hearing from somebody down that way without death being involved, though. Seems like no one in the Iowa contingent ever calls or writes or emails unless it's about illness and death.
On top of everything else, I had to change hats on the fly and perform some crazy code-monkey hijinks this morning, with zero notice. Which I did, in about three hours. Which means that next time they fail to plan ahead, I'll be expected to get it done in 90 minutes.

And now I'm sitting here, it's raining, I ache all over from taking a spill in the shower this morning, and--

Oh, hell. I think I'm just going to quit while I'm behind, and go read a romance novel.

Reading: In honor of the link below, I�m going to attempt to read a Nora Roberts book--"Unfinished Business". (Hey�she's also J.D. Robb, so I figure it won�t actually kill me.)

Surfing: smartbitchestrashybooks. Name pretty much sums it up.

Listening: Sarah McLachlan, Cowboy Junkies, Leningrad Cowboys

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com