rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















just swingin' away
February 28, 2008

Spouse was off sick last night, so I had to put up with him. It wouldn�t be too bad, if is wasn�t for his expecting me to play nursie to him--tidy is bed, make him soup, fetch him a Sprite, etc. He also has an uncanny ability to wait until I�m all settled in with my blankie and a movie, and then decide that he wants to be in the living room and watch TV. I ended up going to bed early, just to avoid dealing with him.


I�ve been so busy lately that I haven�t had much time for hanging out at my favorite blogs and forums, and I�m starting to feel it a little. Since I�ve been making a valiant effort to do more reading, drink more water and eat more fruits and vegetables, it isn�t as bad as it could be, but it�s definitely making me edgy and moody.

The fact that work is a relentless hell doesn�t help matters; and just as I had almost screwed up the courage to talk to Exboss about it in a good old heart-to-heart venting, one of those corporate warning signs popped up big and bold and flashing red.

They laid more people off today.

And I�m certainly not going to go making myself conspicuous if they are looking for necks to swing an axe at. So I once again swallow my bitter little pill and press on.

And manage to handle, with varying degrees of aplomb, the ridiculous quantity and variety of shit I get shoved at me. I actually got a very nice compliment from one of my �customers� today--I made sure I forwarded it to my boss. Not that it matters in the long run, but occasionally, I like to point out that there are some people who think I know my shit, even if she doesn�t.
I managed to flood my car today when I was getting ready to leave work. Yes, I flooded a fuel-injected car. I walked out to the back of the lot and started my car to let it warm up, then remembered that I�d forgotten something in the building. So I ran it up to the door before it had warmed up, then turned it off and ran in. About thirty seconds later, when I tried starting it back up�flooded. Damn, that was stupid. No biggie, though--I just gave it a few minutes and tried again, then let it warm up good and proper before I hit the highway.

But I hate when I do dumb stuff because I�m not thinking. I know perfectly well that you do NOT do that with the Retro-Rocket, but then I go and do it anyway because I�m feeling rushed and bothered.

That�s what I mean when I say I�m �starting to feel it�--I fluster and founder when I�m denied a proper amount of time to decompress, and damn, I just hate that. But every day, I feel like there are so many things I have to do that I end up denying myself anything I like to do.
I am, as I said, trying to get back my good habits, eating more fruits and veggies, and making sure I�m adequately hydrated. I�m actually craving it, which helps. On Tuesday night, I made myself a salmon filet, long grain & wild rice with herbs, and steamed a vegetable medley of broccoli, carrots, sugar snap peas, and water chestnuts. Tonight, I�m baking a chicken breast, and I�ll have the leftover rice and some more broccoli with that. Last night, I wasn�t up to anything more than a bowl of cereal, but at least I�m heading in the right direction. And I�ve been having fresh fruit for breakfast all week. Grapes, melon, a banana--nature�s anti-depressants!

So in the interest of mental health, I�ve got a date for the eighth--Nephew and I are going to see a performance of �Rent�, The Student Version. This should be interesting--what changes can they do without breaking down the structure? Once you take out the IV drug use, swearing, stripping, and homosexuality, you don�t have a whole lot left. But inveterate rent-heads that we are, My boy and I are duty-bound to check it out. I�ve seen this school�s formidable �Sweeney Todd� a couple of times, so I know they don�t have too much hesitation about mounting a shocking show. And doing it well enough to perform it on a national stage. I�m really looking forward to seeing what they do with Rent. And since Nephew and I are astonishingly similar in taste and sensibilities, I am looking forward even more to the critical deconstruction afterwards.

Reading: �Seabiscuit: An American Legend�, by Laura Hillenbrand, and "Northanger Abbey", by Jane Austen. And I�m actually making progress in both!

Surfing: Overheard at the Office. This is it, folks. This is what it�s like out there in Cubeland.

Listening: �Finian�s Rainbow� soundtrack. An old favorite. We had �Look to the Rainbow� played at our wedding (just like Woody and Sharon!).

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com