rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















pizza--wedding--oscars
February 25, 2008

I had an amazing pizza Friday night. We were debating what to have for dinner, and Spouse was leaning towards placing a delivery order. I wanted something a step above that. So we went to the Italian deli (Tenuta's, on 52nd St. A K-Town tradition.) and got lots of wonderful ingredients, then we each built our own custom pie. Mine had Italian eggplant salad, black olives, artichoke hearts, sweet Italian sausage, and prosciutto, with fresh mozzarella, provolone, and just a touch of aged parmesan. It was to die for. Spouse, of course, had his usual cheese and sausage; his idea of mixing it up was to put a little provolone on it. Otherwise, it was just your basic sausage pizza. But made with top quality stuff, though.

Mine came out huge; I'm still working my way through it. The last three slices are tonight's dinner.


I can�t begin to describe the brilliant, gorgeous, flamboyant, joyous spectacle that was the wedding. I can say that it was magnificent; and quite the pageant. Spouse was blown away and can�t stop talking about it, and we had a wonderful time. Spouse even ate Indian food!

More amazing still--He liked it!

He really wanted to buy a gift (as opposed to money or a giftcard), so we went to Target and got them a broom-vac they had registered for. He wrapped it himself, bless his heart, even selecting the paper, bow, and card! Matte silver paper with shiny silver polka-dots, and an oversized textured silver bow. He's so brilliant when it comes to wrapping; it looked very professional. Even 32 years after quitting his department store giftwrapper gig, he still hasn't lost his touch.

He wore his new slacks and the gorgeous sapphire-blue dress shirt he bought the other day, with a somewhat unusual tie. It was predominately black and brown, but had a small bit of blue in the pattern that was just the same shade as his shirt, and they played beautifully together. And that blue shirt made his blue eyes sparkle. What I'm saying is, the old boy looked pretty hot.

I, on the other hand...meh. Nicely put together, but nothing earth-shattering. I wore the navy trouser suit with a sleeveless white shell under it, and pearls. I know I have quiet taste and all, but after I got dressed to go, I wasn't nearly as in love with it. Even I thought I looked dowdy. From the waist up, I looked like Aunt Bee. But it was tasteful, understated, and appropriate (and cheap, and machine-washable!), so I guess I shouldn't bitch.
I didn't watch the big to-do last night, opting instead for Jeeves and Wooster, followed by the tail end of Pride and Prejudice on channel 11, just to get a quick Firth Fix. I figure why bother? I know that come Monday, I can find out in two shakes who won, lost, or wore something hideous, so I'm disinclined to invest two or three hours watching on Sunday night. I am not a big watcher of modern movies, and I am not an Oscar buff.

But according to my radio this morning, apparently the best actors in America are actually Irish, French, Scottish (don't call her English!), and Spanish. Who knew? I almost wish I'd tuned in. Then again, I've never seen Cotillard or Bardem in anything, Tilda Swinton scares me, and as for Daniel Day Lewis--I prefer to remember him as he was back in the days of "My Beautiful Laundrette", or "The Last of the Mohicans". Not to be shallow or anything, but time has not been kind.

Reading: �Seabiscuit: An American Legend�, by Laura Hillenbrand, and "Northanger Abbey", by Jane Austen.

Surfing: Build your Own Comics Page. Thanks to The Houston Chronicle, you can have your own, customized comics page. Down side--no Sunday funnies.

Listening: Sir James Galway. As an old flautist, sometimes I just get the urge to hear some flute music.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com