rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















success!
February 21, 2008

I�m whipped. If it wasn�t for the fact that Spouse is off tomorrow, I wouldn�t even bother to post tonight. But he is, and that means I won�t get any computer time�or effing privacy�or a freakin� minute to myself�till Monday.

Why so tired? Hard day at the office, compounded by computer issues that resulted in my not having one for most of the day. Fortunately (I guess), I had so many meetings this afternoon, I wasn�t even at my desk anyway.


And glutton for punishment that I am, I decided to exacerbate things by going shopping after work. I was still not happy about the wedding outfit, and it was the last place I hadn�t tried.

Kinda glad I did. I can�t believe how great the service was! Granted, I was about the only person in there, but I had two terrific sales women. After I made my initial choices to try on, I never had to pick another item off the rack. They were very good at sizing up my taste, too. That really got me--in this day and age, I didn�t figure I could afford any store where they actually waited on you. Turns out I can!

I got an adorable trouser suit, navy with white piping, � length sleeves, and a petite, so the pants actually fit! $60.00. They had some cuter things, but they were �average� (too long in leg and sleeve), and I don�t have time to get anything altered. I really like this suit, though. And I got a string of graduated costume pearls and a pair of matching pearl studs, a new pair of (ahem) control panties, and a couple of really cute tops for work. Really, though, I managed to work the buy/get, percentage off, and credit card app discounts hard enough to get the total bill down from $216.69 to $151.86.

So I went next door to buy shoes.
Got a nice pair of black casuals for work, for less than fourteen bucks. SCORE!

Apparently the voice in my head that kept urging me to try Catherine�s was on its game today.
I still haven�t picked up a wedding gift, though. But they�re registered at Target, so I�m thinking a gift card may be the way to go, anyway. I�m not going to have time to go all they way to a Crate & Barrel or a Bed, Bath & Beyond, since the nearest C&B is in Northbrook, and while BB&B is closer, I�d still have to run to Racine or Gurnee. At least we have a Target here in town. They haven�t received too much action on their Target registry, so there will be plenty of things for them to spend it on.

I�ll see what Spouse wants to do tomorrow--if he wants to buy a gift, we can do that, but I�m not crazy about schlepping a wrapped gift around the Loop.
Cripes. It�s nearly 7:30, and I�m tired, hungry, and I have a headache. This post is done.

Reading: �Seabiscuit: An American Legend�, by Laura Hillenbrand.

Surfing: Surfing: Flanders and Swann Online. Revisiting such classics as �Madeira M'Dear�, �The Armadillo�, and �Misalliance� (a/k/a �Right-Handed Honeysuckle and The Left-Handed Bindweed�)

Listening: Anthony Head and Hugh Laurie singing, on YouTube. For those who aren�t anglophiles like myself, that would be �Giles from Buffy� and �House�, respectively.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com