rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















snowed under
February 05, 2008

Happy Pączki Day. I know that strictly speaking, Thursday is Pączki Day, but we celebrate it today, because my husband is Chicago Polish.


Work has been a furious nightmare at breakneck pace the last couple of days, and I feel as though I�m being buried under the weight of it all. And the control freak just keeps grabbing the work from anybody she can, and piling it on. Not to mention that I�m already a week behind, after spending four days in class last week and then having to take a forced day off on Friday, due to the snowstorm.

And I�ll probably end up getting another forced break tomorrow, though--the forecast is for 14-20 inches of snow from this afternoon through tomorrow. The roads are already horrible; it took me forever to get home, and I did no small amount of slipping and sliding on the way.

So it�s probably hunkering time.
So yeah, I ended up with a three-day weekend. It didn�t amount to much, though. Spouse ended up borrowing my car Friday and Saturday, and he went on to procrastinate for a full week before getting his car problems dealt with (just got around to it today.) So it was icky weather, and I was mostly housebound. I played it lazy, and aside from some laundry, and a bit of grocery shopping on Sunday, didn�t get much done.

Niece spent Saturday night with us, her uncle called her up and she was at loose ends and wanted to be rescued. We took her to the Charcoal Grill for dinner, and picked up a movie she wanted me to watch with her. �Sydney White�. Watching Amanda Bynes movies is kind of �our� thing. I thought it was quite cute, spotting the all the cute nods to Snow White, and watching Amanda play her usual character--the girl with her head screwed on straight, true to herself and a help to others. We enjoyed it.

Sunday morning, we got up to her uncle�s famous, fabulous pancakes and some delightful artisanal bacon (we got it from a meat service that only deals with local small farmers and does all their own smoking and curing. Phenomenal!), lounging around in our jammies and taking it easy. Eventually, we got our act together and took the Niece shoe shopping--the last two times she came over, she was wearing bedroom slippers for shoes, and I was tired of it. So we went to Rogan�s and she picked out a pair of these clogs. And since they were buy one, get one 1/2 off, I let her get a similar pair in black, with fuzzy lining.

Personally, I�d rather she wore actual shoes, that covered her entire foot, this winter. But the point of the exercise was to buy shoes she�d actually wear, not to waste my money on something she�d leave on the floor of the closet. She seemed happy with what she�d picked, I got two pairs for a very reasonable $52.00, and no biggie. Her mom was a bit perturbed--it�s the second time in a row she stayed over at my house and went home with new shoes. but it�s an Auntie�s prerogative to take a niece out shoe shopping.

Nyah.
Besides, the last time I did, they were like six bucks, for the most adorable little pair of polka-dot ballet flats at Wal-Mart. Six bucks!
The one bright spot of my day yesterday was lunch--I got kidnapped and taken out by my dear friend D, who was in town working on the arrangements for her son�s wedding on the 23rd. They�ve actually been married for like two years, but when you are Indian, apparently quickie weddings between a couple of active soldiers don�t count. So they are making D and her husband very happy and letting them throw a proper Indian wedding, with Mehendi and Sangeet and the wedding at the Palmer House Hilton.

So D and I had a lovely fun time chatting and catching up over the soup/salad/breadsticks lunch at Olive Garden. I ended up taking a double lunch period, which is kind of a no-no, but they don�t really say anything unless you make a habit of it, which I don�t.

Just as well, since today, I was denied my lunch period. A certain well-placed bitch within the company decided she absolutely had to have a meeting over the noon hour, and of course, the control freak was A) too scared to decline the invitation, and B) hell-bent on including me.
Since I�m sure the weather has blocked the satellite signal, and I�m in the mood to snuggle up and veg out, I think I may well pop in movie and do just that this evening. Or better yet--perhaps I�ll pop in one of My �Rumpole� DVDs and mellow to the soothing tones of Leo McKern. But first I have to figure out what�s for dinner. I don�t feel much like cooking, though. So I have a hunch it�s going to be Corn Chex and bananas. And a Pączki, of course.

Reading: Don�t be silly. I have been so busy with work, and so exhausted when I got home, that I couldn�t keep my eyes on a page. Can we count watching videos of a Lord Peter Wimsey story and a Shakespeare comedy? �Cause I watched �Gaudy Night� (with Edward Petherbridge & Harriet Walter) and �Much Ado About Nothing� (Branagh and Thompson)

Surfing: "Elastic Waist� . Number two on my list of �favorite places to be on the internet�.

Listening: Traveling Wilburys. My �super group� of choice. Preferably Volume 1, because I loves me some Lefty Wilbury.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com