rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















it does have a name
January 25, 2008

I talked to my mom tonight. She called to tell me that my SIL�s (my oldest brother�s wife) dad died last night. I knew he was in bad shape, and just before Christmas they had given him three to six months. I guess there�s no real way to predict these things, though. I really feel bad for Sissy; she�s such a love, and was very close to her dad. And after losing Papa, I know a bit of how my brother must feel. He loved his father-in-law and they were best buds. The boys are devastated as well, I�m sure.

The online obit said no flowers, but I will send something anyway--probably a potted plant or dish garden. I think it�s okay when it is from family. I�ll send a check to the hospice, as well, since that was the specified memorial.


In other parental news, Mom & Dad got their new appliances this week, and of course it�s a nightmare. Nothing is ever easy for those two. The dealer sent the wrong models, but can�t exchange them until the middle of next week. The installers fucked up installing the dishwasher, the vent, the microwave, and the water line on the fridge. They were supposed to haul away the old ones, but said they couldn�t do that until next week either. In general, a helluva mess. In short, business as usual for that pair.

I love my parents, and it pisses me off when somebody treats them shabbily, but at the same time I wonder if it isn�t something about them--the way they handle things--that doesn�t trigger this kind of thing. I mean, it is so damned consistent in their lives. I remember when they remodeled they bathroom--oh, that was a nightmare that shall not soon be forgotten.

And then I get mad at myself for thinking that, because I�ve been through seemingly unending home-improvements (see: furnace, fence, pool, gutters) and know that it is a legitimate nightmare getting things done and done right. So it probably isn�t really the �rents fault. Tradesmen really do suck.
I took a test the other day relating to my constant irritation at the sights, sounds, and smells of life. It was the Kinnealey and Oliver Adult Sensory Questionnaire, and it had 26 T/F questions. Kind of interesting. It touched on the exaggerated startle response I have, and the smells thing, as well as some stuff I�d never really made the connection about. Anyway, if you mark more than 10 as true, it indicates you have definite sensory defensiveness.

I got 20.

So it�s nice to know my quirk has a name, and that there are others out there just as freaked as me by the smallest shit. And where do I go from here? Well, I have a book that was recommended by the Doc, and I see what it says. I�m hoping it has some useful information for mitigating the symptoms. And I�ve been doing some googling, now that I have something to call it. I wasn�t getting anywhere with the string searches I had been using, but with a name for the condition, it�s a bit easier to dredge up info.

So far, It looks like it goes strongly hand-in-hand with the ADD, and with the Autism Spectrum. Oh--and also depression. Yeah, so what else is new?
I ended up taking a nap this afternoon, and now I feel stupid and groggy. And I feel like it put my whole day out of whack. It�s eight o�clock, and I haven�t even thought about dinner. I suppose I�d better go heat up a LC or something before it gets much later, otherwise I�m going to have night indigestion. I�d skip it all together, but then I�ll wake up in the night hungry. Which sucks, because--then I�ll eat, and then I�ll definitely get night gut. I live such a win-win life.



Reading: �Too Loud, Too Bright, Too Fast, Too Tight: What to Do If You Are Sensory Defensive in an Overstimulating World �, by Sharon Heller, PhD

Listening: Jann Arden�s YouTube Channel. I�ve been a �fann� of hers since I first heard �Insensitive�, over 10 years ago now.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com