rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















half temper, half mental
January 23, 2008

I was really beat last night, so I went to bed at about quarter to nine. But going to bed early just means waking up early, for me. I was wide-eyed at three. Makes for a long-ass day, I can tell you.

And I was cold-footed, too--thanks to Mr. B, the electric blanket hog. He�s figured out the magically warm bed thing, and he builds himself a nice nest after I doze off, leaving my limbs out in the cold.

And cold ain�t the half of it--it has been horrible this past week. The weather fluctuates between hideously bitter and just bitter, but with a side of snow. It�s currently 9� and snowing, but will be switching overnight to minus 9�, with a delightful wind chill of -25�.


Channeling the voices in management�s head:
If we give her enough impossible tasks, maybe she�ll just quit. And if she doesn�t, we�ll just give her more impossible tasks, and fire her because she couldn�t get them done.

The �just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in� department:
Now I�m being consulted in efforts to fix everything that�s wrong in my former area. Uhh, you know all that stuff you stopped doing in the last 2 years? Start doing it again, you dumb fucks!

Other things that don�t make my job easier:
I have to spend 45-65 percent of my week in meetings. I hate meetings. They�re a horrible convergence of my conviction that most people are idiots and my conviction that my co-workers are assholes. Any given meeting is only 15% useful to me, so they waste huge swathes of time I need to�you know-actually get things done.

And if that wasn�t enough, I�m married to a control freak who has my work number and uses it every single fucking day. And if I don�t happen to be at my desk? I get the third damned degree about it. Yeah, I�m having an affair between lunch and 3:00, jerky. Nothing he does pisses me off more than his goddamned jealous act. Christ. I have enough to deal with!

Whew. Change the subject.
I�m kinda psyched about reading something for the first time in a while. I really liked �Gone�, and would be interested in reading the other books with those characters. And the free sample of �Hide� that was included in my copy piqued my interest as well. I really want to read that. Too bad my local library sucks like a Hoover, and I live in a community of 100,000 people and zero bookstores.

Oh, m�god--I�ve been Book-blocked!
I had my first bloody nose of winter today at work. I�m thinking it�s a combination of the weather, and the fact that Spouse turned the humidifier on the furnace DOWN over the weekend. WHY? Why wait until the air is this frigidly, life-suckingly dry to turn it down? Fortunately, it was not too bad and I was able to get it stopped within five minutes. Also fortunately, I was wearing my red sweater at the time, so if it stains, it won�t be too noticeable. There have been occasions, believe me, where it has gone on much longer (and messier.).

What kicked it off was a serious sneezing fit--one of my co-workers got a new perfume, and very kindly took a bath in it so we could all enjoy it with her. How sweet.



Reading: �Blinded�, by Stephen White

Listening: WXRT. Cheap Trick, Sarah McLachlan, The Raconteurs. Yeah, XRT is all over the place, but that�s because their genre is great music. And their music is actually programmed by human DJs.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com