rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















stressy
January 22, 2008, 6:06 P.M.

I wrote the following as a way of talking myself through a meltdown this afternoon. Once I wrote it, I felt a little better, and was able to pop in my earplugs and get on with things.


At this moment, I am sitting at my desk in the office, and here is what is going on around me:
  • Something is being slurped
  • Something is being crunched
  • Bags and packages are being rattled
  • There is a stench of what is probably food, but god help the person who eats it because it smells like unwashed feet and onion
  • The corridor is awash in the stink of too much perfume, because the number one offender just walked down it
  • Gum is being masticated
  • There is, as there always is, chatter. By loud, loud people.
  • There is an icy-cold draft shooting directly down the back of my neck
  • The ventilator responsible for the draft is both rattling and roaring.
And in the midst of all this delicious environmental perfection, I am required to concentrate on a tedious, nit-picky, boring-as-all-fuck project with a looming deadline, and do a good job.

I freely admit that, as a �sensory defensive� (well, it beats being a �mental defective�, I guess), I am way more susceptible to this stuff than others may be. But at the same time, I do have to point out that I work with some of the rudest, most inconsiderate assholes in the universe.

So that certainly doesn�t help.
"Lazy" Fred Thompson's done with the campaign, I hear.

I find it interesting to note what people expect of candidates. If you are not out kissing babies and willfully misinterpreting your opponent's rhetoric, you're lazy.

Although I'm not, as a rule, a great one for defending anti-choice republicans, I think it's unfair to call a man lazy because he's busy publishing position papers and building a platform instead of entertaining the masses.

That said, I'm not sorry he dropped out.
He's not dropped as far as Heath Ledger, though. That news was a bit of a shock. But mainly because he was just 28. I was pretty sure that I hadn't actually seen anything he was in, and a quick check just now onIMDb confirmed it. I wasn't even sure what he looked like, although I had an idea that he was tall and maybe blonde.

Very sad, though. It sounds like it may have been drugs, and when they find a wealthy 28-yr-old dead in his apartment, what else is it likely to be, really?

Reading: �Blinded�, by Stephen White

Listening: The late, great Eva Cassidy

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com