rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















no rest for the stressed
January 18, 2008

Work hit it�s crescendo of insanity today--every single minute a pain in the ass nightmare of multiple urgent bullshit. Hate. And I had to bring some of it home with me, which never fails to piss me off--If you give me salary-level responsibilities and salary-level workloads, then make me salaried, god dammit! If I�m not getting paid for it, my motivation takes quite a whack. Or, failing that, if you want me to get all this done for you, don�t see to it that I spend 13 hours of my week in meetings and seminars!

Or even--the very least you could do--enforce a corporate environment. Meaning one that doesn�t convey the general ambience of a Moroccan souk. The wretched smells, the noise, and the constant milling throngs make any concentration impossible.


Dentist yesterday. No cavities, but he put a filling on the �watch list�. It�s showing a lot of wear and tear, but that�s not surprising, considering it�s on an anchor tooth for the partial.

One thing was kind of weird; I�ve never gotten a text message from my dentist�s office before. They sent me one when I was driving home from work, requesting I call. Glad I did--I got in 45 minutes early!
After the demanding week I�ve had, I was hoping for a weekend where I could control my own destiny, and just fucking chill out. Maybe let the housework slide, and go do a little much-needed clothes shopping. But Spouse, without consulting me (the old, old story), arranged dinner plans with P&E. But not content to stop there, he also arranged for Nephew to go along, and to stay the night afterwards. Which means that the housework must get done, and that he will swallow up yet another weekend, and that I will go to work on yet another Monday in scuffed up shoes and pants that have the inseams worn out.

Is he trying to kill me?
The smoking struggle is getting me down, too. The smokes are winning at the moment, despite the fact that it is about 4° outside, and yet--it�s snowing.



Reading: "Gone", by Lisa Gardner

Listening: �Little Shop of Horrors� Soundtrack. I like to listen to it after visiting the dentist.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com