rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















knackered
January 16, 2008

It�s been catch-up time, after all of the craziness of last week. Catching up at work, and in life. I hate weeks like this, where every day brings another post-work appointment, and I don�t get to just come straight home and decompress. Monday was chiro, and that I was quite ready for. I needed all the stress wrung out of me and all my bones put back in place. Tuesday was the shop, for the oil change I�d already put off for nearly a thousand miles. Today I got my hair cut, because if I was afraid that in my present state of mind I�d end up shaving my head out of the frustration of dealing with my unruly and overgrown mop. I�d thought to have a night off tomorrow, but then I got a call to remind me that the dental appointment I made 6 months ago was for this Thursday, so that means yet another after-work obligation. Shit.

And work has been a real nightmare all week, as well. On top of having one of those �putting out fires everywhere� weeks, I�ve got several major deadlines looming large, a boss that�s quite literally (and I am using that correctly, as in standing behind me while I work) breathing down my neck, and several major interruptions on my calendar, including seminars and training classes. GAH! I�d feel more excited about those, if there was a chance in hell that the company was actually going to let me do things the right way, but that place has a long history of paying for all these methodologies, but never actually buying into them. So it ends up being a huge waste of cash, time, and other resources. That ends up being frustrating, morale-crushing, and generally counter-productive for the actual workforce, while management pats themselves on the back for being so forward-thinking and supportive.

And it doesn�t exactly make my day when I am forced to attend an interactive workshop where they keep demanding to know what you are passionate about. Umm�yeah. How many times lately have I bemoaned the fact that I�m not passionate about anything anymore? Makes it hard to answer the question. The first time they asked it, I fell back on �reading� as an answer, because that�s had a forty-year run as an enduring passion of mine. When they asked for a second example of my passion, I snapped �privacy�, and they backed off a bit.

What a difference 12 years makes in one�s outlook. When I showed up for my first day there on January 16, 1996, I was starry-eyed and thrilled to be hired. Now, I wouldn�t give you ha�penny for the lot of them.


The stop-smoking campaign is in dodgy shape this week, due to stress and depression. It�s not without progress, since I�ve managed to cut my 10-a-day down to 5. But I�m kind of disappointed in myself anyway. I really need to call the counseling line, but I just can�t face dealing with people once I finally drag myself home in the evening.
Right now, I�m cranky, freezing-cold, tired, and I�m craving a smoke. I think I want to just wrap up in my blankie, snuggle up with Mr. B, and watch a Mel Brooks movie.



Reading: "Gone", by Lisa Gardner. I guess the victim in this book is a leading character in several others, but this is my first encounter with her. Given my issues with finding reading material lately, I didn�t have high hopes for it holding my interest. Quel surprise! I�m finding it very readable. There are several strong female characters in this book, and several male characters that are realistically flawed, but decent and likable. Evil kidnappers and juvenile pyromaniacs aside, of course.

Listening: The Best of ABBA . I raked over the CD collection last night, and it popped up. I find I�m kind of in the mood for Fernando and Dancing Queen.

At Random: clickhere




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com