rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















holiday recap
December 26, 2007

We had my family�s Christmas on Saturday, in Bettendorf. Everyone made it, and MyNiece brought her fella. It was okay, despite the cruddy weather. We had dense fog on Saturday, rain and sleet on Saturday night, and that turned into an ice storm. Then we were treated to snow and very high winds for Sunday. All the traveling went okay though, everyone got there and back safely.

We all met at the hotel and had a nice visit, and after a while, the over-21-but-under-70 crowd headed out to the boat. We were there about an hour or so--long enough to lose a little money--except for my oldest nephew--he played roulette and made 60 bucks!

Then we headed back to the hotel and got everybody together to go to The River House--a really neat pub and grill in Moline, down in the historic John Deere district. Decent dinner. I had the combo dinner with the glazed salmon and the bourbon steak. Not great, but not bad. The mashed potatoes were awful, but the apple crisp that came with it was outstanding.

After that we headed back across the river and had our gift exchange in a big sitting area off the lobby. Everyone got something nice (we drew names among the kids and grandkids) and MyNiece had a lot of fun with giving some gag gifts, too. She got her grandma a candle in the shape of a cobra! Poor mom--she's never going to shake that nickname. But she thought it was very funny. MyNiece wasn't taking any chances, though--she put a tag on it saying it came from Spouse!

Some of us ended the evening playing a game. After Mom and Dad tuckered out, Spouse and my brothers decided they were worn out too, but the rest of us played a game called Apples to Apples, which was lots of fun and gave us all a chance to be very silly. But we had to wrap things up by 11:30, because we knew we'd have to get up and clean off the cars in the morning.

And after meeting for breakfast at the restaurant attached to the hotel, we all got busy doing just that. MyNiece managed to break the door handle off the car in the process (I love that young woman, because she's as klutzy as I am!) Once everything was warmed up and de-iced, we all hit the various roads.

It was actually kind of fun this year, but you could tell we were all having our little Sammy moments. We are missing him pretty bad this time of year.

One we fought our way home, I had to prepare a full homemade meal for Spouse, since he was crying that he wasn�t getting any home cooking. (And since I get guilted to death whenever he has to be anywhere near my family.) I did a meatloaf, mashed butter-red potatoes, baby peas, and dinner rolls, all of which were very tasty. But exhausting.

I crashed early�I didn�t sleep well at all at the hotel, and the ride home in the wind and snow wore me out even more. Since Mr. B was still at the kennel, I ended up sleeping for 10 hours straight�unheard of for me, but I guess I really needed it.


Once we finally got up on Monday, Spouse and I ran out to the kennel and picked up our very tired, very clingy, and somewhat wounded (nail-clipping mishap) pooch and came home. Oh, how that dog has hung on us ever since! He�ll be having a rough time today, as Spouse and I are both working during the day, and he will be in his crate for longer than usual.

We kicked around the house most of Monday, putting together meat trays and getting ready to go to P&E�s for Christmas Eve. We had stopped in Rockford on the way home to get all the stuff, because the Logli has such a great deli. We ended up with roast beef, rotisserie turkey breast, Krakus Polish ham, pastrami, and corned beef.

And five pounds of Mrs. Fisher�s Potato Chips. Naturally.

I made up the meat trays, and prettied them up with curly endive, olives, and grape tomatoes (It actually looked quite festive and Christmassy, and impressed the hell out of P&E) while Spouse cleaned and trimmed green onions and cut big deli pickles into wedges and slices. I dug out my Whitehall pickle dish for him, and he did a nice job arranging them for the occasion.

We took the long way up to P&E�s to avoid traffic backups, so we got there at just about 5:00, greeted warmly by our hosts and a blazing fire. P, being freed from preparing a big, formal meal, had turned his attention to some really fabulous hot h'ors d'oeuvres, and E was broadening her cooking horizons with cocktails and Cr�me Br�l�e.

We had our usual lovely time. Never have a bad one at their house. Everyone got the pleasure of being smug, because we all got each other gifts that were perfectly suited to the recipient. The food was superb, the company congenial, and the atmosphere cosy and welcoming. My favorite gathering of the Christmas season.

Even if I am a little bit jealous that E gets to play with a torch in the house, and I don�t.
As for Christmas Day proper, Spouse slept till it was time to get ready for brunch, and I spent most of the morning on the phone with the �rents, since they were on their own for the day like we were. Once he FINALLY got up, I gave him his surprise present (the Harley coffee table book), which he seemed to like. Then we pretty much showered, dressed, drove to brunch, ate, and came home. I killed part of the afternoon with a nap, and we grazed leftovers for supper. Both of us had to be up this morning, and TV sucked the wax tadpole, so there wasn�t much to do of Christmas night but go to bed..
THE OFFICIAL LIST OF SWAG: A microplane A basketful of awesome, high quality spices from Penzey�s. Velvet Tuberose body wash and lotion from B&BW (ITCHY!!!!!) $75.00 giftcard from Penny�s $50.00 giftcard from Fashion Bug

And of course, my beloved camera, which I received in November, but counts as my gift from Spouse.


Reading: �The Year of Magical Thinking�, by Joan Didion Gave up before I really even got started. I can�t do that level of depressing right now. In fact, I am not even in a book right now�completely stepped away.

Listening: Nope.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com