rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















giddy
30/30 (WooHoo!) November 28, 2007

Nothing perks me up like my annual review. In spite of the feeling on impending doom I�ve had since Bosslady scheduled it on Monday, and in spite of the fact that I spend very little time actually working, and in spite of the fact that I took a �12 Clues That Your Job is Unfulfilling� quiz yesterday and got 7 out of 12---

I continue to rock. Outstanding.

Of course, she then proceeded to try and ruin the whole feel-good experience by holding a team meeting and cracking down on the following:
-LUNCHES--can�t be too long, can�t be too short, can�t be too early, can�t be too late, can�t be eaten at your desk*, can�t be taken at your desk, even if you don�t eat**.
-PHONE CALLS�stop it. Just stop it.
-CHATTER-- stop it. Just stop it. Nose to the grindstone, shoulder to the wheel, clap �em in irons and make �em row the boat. Joyless $!+@#.
-TRACKING HOURS�be honest when filling out your time sheet. Um, if I was honest about when I get here and when I leave, they would be paying me for an extra 2.5 hours a week.
-SMOKING�before work, after work, and lunch only. No sneaking out for extra smoke breaks. (To be honest, this one was welcome, because I am scrupulous about observing this company policy, and resent the hell out of the people who abuse it. I suffered through the year of NO -SMOKING, and remember doing the daily lunchtime trek out to the street to hoot. I try to honor the rules, in hopes that they don�t decide to ban it again.)

*Too bad she has no jurisdiction over the asshole in the next bay, and his daily lunch of fricasseed polecat!
**keep in mind�we get a 45-minute lunch, and work in the middle of a construction zone, in the middle of nowhere, in the winter time. Where the fuck are we supposed to GO on our lunch hour?


Oh, well. It still makes up for the unpleasant surprise I had last night at 9:15, while I was winding down my day with a game of �Cubis Gold 2�.

Spouse came home sick.

Now I know it makes me sound like such an über-bitch�but I just did a straight eight with him driving me crazy, so this week was supposed to be gloriously peaceful. And I�m sorry he�s sick, but at 9:15 on a Tuesday night, I am getting ready to go to bed, not running around fetching him 7-Up and over-the-counter palliatives. Bleah.

Also�it freaked the B-ster out, and after a very subdued evening, he went apeshit and drove everyone crazy for about an hour, because DADDY! HOME!

End result�I slept for shit, had dreams about the dog getting out, woke up groggy this morning.
Getting back to my review�while we were talking, my boss said something that struck me as utterly absurd. Regarding the latest spate of tedious bullshit tasks�she feels it�s important to have a number of these on your desk at any given time because they are so tedious that you want to put them down for awhile, and you should have something else available to work on.

Something�else. Something�just as tedious�just as unrewarding�just as meaningless�as� what you were doing in the first place?

Um. Yeah. Real motivator, there.

�Do I get extra points for not laying a biselah zetz on her ear?
I�ve got to get this done, because I have my evening planned out to be busy. I was successful at avoiding food last night because I stayed occupied, so I�m going to keep that up. I need to go to the store for Lean Cuisines, bottled water, Vitamin Water, and some more fruits and veggies, then I want to do a couple of loads of wash and upload some photos and walk on the treadmill for a while. But I can�t blow off posting, because this post means I HAVE MET MY GOAL!!!! Exceeded it, actually. Thirty posts in twenty-four days, actually.

Of course�now it�s time for Holidailies�
Maybe not.


Reading:�Entertainment Weekly�, because I forgot my copy of AHMM this morning and had to borrow lunchtime reading material. Before you judge�the cover shot is Johnny Depp. As Sweeney Todd. Oh, hellyeah!

Listening: �Mr. Hankey�s Christmas Classics�. Hee. Because I�m twelve! DUH!

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com