rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















dogspensive
September 15, 2007

Puppies ain�t cheap. Especially puppies like Mr. B, who need ALL their shots, and a physical, and a year�s worth of Heartguard, and a neutering.

We took the guy into the vet this morning for his physical, heartworm meds and the first round of immunization�s and it ran to nearly three bills. Plus, I�ve got him scheduled for boosters and his �alterations� in three weeks--and I�ve got no idea how much that�s gonna run me, but I�m sure it won�t be cheap. And the premium puppy food we put him on is around ten bucks for a small bag.

But what are you going to do? A pup�s got to have adequate care, and we are pretty serious about it in this house.

He�s worth it. My long and lanky boy is just a joy to have around, what a young, healthy, frolicky thing he is. He tears around the yard like he has a firecracker up his butt, and loves to play fetch and tuggy toy, and his new Milkbone squeaky toy is his best companion.

He�s also a major snuggle hound, and a cuddly bedbug like his predecessor. Undercover lover. No worries about the early-morning chill for that pooch.
He was holed up under the blankets with me this morning, and sound asleep with my arms around him.

It does me good, too--to have a good supply of snuggles and someone to depend on me for things.
Right now, he�s having a nap in the big bed, while I type. His papa is off for a motorcycle ride and a poker game, and it�s just me and him around here at the moment.



Well, him and me and Sweeney Todd. After ages of putting it off, I finally got around to buying myself the DVD of the Angela Lansbury/George Hearn performance. It�s been a long-time favorite, and after introducing it to my best friend many years ago, W spent a fortune on one of the VHS copies, which turned out to be exceedingly rare and expensive to buy in the many, many years between that single VHS issue and the DVD.

I�ve seen it numerous times, of course (Blessings untold on W�s head for that!) So right now I�ve just got it on for background. I am one of the minority, and prefer George to Len Cariou as Sweeney, so I prefer this to the OCR.

But I have that, too.



My day is otherwise dedicated to the domesticities. I ran out and did the shopping this morning, and now I�m puttering a bit. Lots of laundry, a bit of cleaning, and an entry--mostly to prove to myself I can still do it.

If it wasn�t for the fact that it�s bleeding cold out today, I�d be swimming. But the weather once more conspires to cheat me of that. The last week and a half have had the air of mid-autumn, instead of summer�s end. The water temperature is down into the sixties, and the promises of 85 degree temps this week come too late to get it back up out of hypothermia range before the season is over for good. Spouse and I will probably put it to bed next weekend.




Reading: �Wonderful Tonight�, by Pattie Boyd


Listening: Angela Lansbury and George Hearn in �Sweeney Todd, The Demon Barber of Fleet Street�. Book by Hugh Wheeler, music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim.



At Random: click here



|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com