rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















hey-ho, ralphie-boy
September 27, 2007

Things to write about don�t come easy these days. My life is mostly boring, and when it isn�t boring, it�s never not boring in a good way.

And, too�time to write doesn�t come easy, either. My time is really not my own. I get very little free time to write, and even less privacy (privacy is KEY for me).

But.

He announced last night that he�s going back to second shift in a week or so. Back to the shift we both prefer, back to the shop that�s close to home, and back to the additional 50 cents an hour for being on second.

Plus, he is going to be receiving a monthly bonus for NOT taking his company�s insurance. $75.00 a month for waiving coverage is pretty sweet. I�ve already informed him that I�m scaling back my deposits once this kicks in, because he owes me that money. When you consider that the reason we are both on my insurance to begin with is that he can�t be trusted to handle it (OR STAY EMPLOYED, FOR THAT MATTER), he actually owes me a helluva lot more than $75 a month.

So I�m getting some of my life back! My evenings will be free again, my wallet will be a little fatter, and I�m hoping that it will be a fresh start for me.

Fingers crossed.



One thing nice to write about today�Save-A-Pet came to my office building today, and brought along two German Shepard pups. Brother and sister, three months old, and utterly, completely adorable.

I was also privileged to meet Ralphie--
A Katrina rescue mutt who has the most utterly calm and serene demeanor I�ve ever seen in a dog. Amazing that a dog they found in a junkyard, starving, and covered in oil and tar, could turn out to be so much of a love. He�s just a sweet and cuddly, total charmer.
I guess once you�ve been to Hell and back, it�s all gravy. He�s the Save-A-Pet mascot, and I think it�s a win-win situation. A pretty cushie gig for the old fella, and SAP gets Mr. PR for their mascot.

Anyway, I decided I could have puppy-love for lunch just about every day. Fat-free, yummy, and ever-so-satisfying.



I�m not into autumn at all this year, and it seems kind of weird that I even ever was. Oh, yeah�I used to be. It was my favorite season. I used to come alive when the heat of summer ebbed. Blue skies, brightly colored leaves, and crisp, fresh fall air? These were nourishment to my soul.

Now, it feels like a terminal diagnosis. The beginning of a descent into death.
What happened to me?




Reading: �Redemption�, by Nancy Geary


Listening: The �Avenue Q� OCR, because it can just make me smile when nothing else can.



At Random: click here

|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com