rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















new kid in town
September 08, 2007

It is my long-held belief that I do not necessarily get the dogs I want. I get the dogs I'm supposed to have. The ones that need me. Recent events have done nothing to prove me wrong.

So the fact that I�d pretty much decided that I wanted an untraumatized, trainable puppy, and had decided on a beagle, has gone by the wayside. Never mind that I�m not getting any younger, and was looking for a smaller dog that wouldn�t combine the morning walk with a wrestling match.

Nope.

Because there�s Mr. B, you see. 10 months old, a black lab-border collie-golden retriever mix. Slightly under-nourished, no shots, not neutered, large.
But sweet-tempered, intelligent, affectionate, and desperately in need of a good home.

Seems his owners, a family of four from a nearby town, had a family meltdown and lost their home to the mother�s drug habit and other irresponsible behavior. I have an acquaintanceship with these folks, so a mutual friend called me on Labor Day to explain what was happening, and to let me know that they had situation on their hands with the family pup. He had been staying with various friends and family members temporarily, but the couple who were currently had him have two large dogs of their own, and were leaving on vacation shortly, so a home had to be found, and soon.

Spouse and I discussed it a bit, and chewed it over. We were in a bit of a pickle, because all our sense said �NO�. But our hearts, and our consciences, had a different take on it.

So we picked up our new dog on Wednesday. Our large, black, pretty boy, with a lanky frame, border collie ears, and the feathery tail of a golden. Oh, he�s a handsome devil, all right.

What can I say? He�s a sweetheart, and he deserves better than the chaos and shuffling around he�s had in his short life. And I do believe he�s very trainable, despite a couple of minor incidents involving sneaking into the basement and pooping. After all, this is his fourth house in two weeks, he was neglected in two of them, and in the third, he went from being the only dog to being third dog. And he�s still just a pup! A bit of erratic behavior is only to be expected.

Plusses, so far, are many. He�s crate-trained. He�s (mostly) housebroken. He comes when called, understands �No�, and doesn�t whine, bark, or rush the front windows like my late Babygirl always did. And speaking as a lifelong dog-owner (strong stomach and no illusions) if he�s going to mess in the house? I�d rather clean up poo than pee, and I�d rather clean it of the concrete floor in the basement than the living room carpet.

He�ll do.





Reading: �Persuasion�, Jane Austen.


Listening: NPR, with Steely Dan interludes.


At Random: click here



|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com