rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















suckitude
July 27, 2006

I swear, there are three rules for afternoon commuting that should never be broken.
1. Never let the needle on the gas gauge dip below a quarter-tank.
2. Always pee before you leave work.
3. Never drink anything in the car on the way home.

Guess who broke all three of the commuting commandments yesterday? Oh, yeah--I burned in hell for it.

Hell is other people. In cars. Standing still. On a four-lane highway. On a hot and steamy July afternoon. During rush hour. For one and a half hours!
Because some jag biker decided to have an attack of road rage, causing a bike/car/semi wreck that ended up killing him, closing down the interstate, and backing traffic up for eight miles.

That was yesterday's commute. The only thing that kept me from totally snapping was the fact that the rain had cleared and I was going to be able to swim when I got home. IF I ever got home.



I did, in fact make it home eventually. And set speed record in donning my suit and hitting the water. After burning the stress with vigorous swimming, and following that with a relaxing float, I felt immeasurably better. Went in and made penne with meat sauce, tossed salad, and garlic bread for dinner. It was damn tasty, too.


Work is worse than ever. I never can understand how it can seem like it couldn't get any worse, but then it does. I don't know what to do. They just ask more and more and more and I
CAN. NOT. DO. IT. ALL.

Why can't I have a simple, orderly life, where shit makes sense and it doesn't feel like everyone is out to get you all the time? Where you work hard, you can support yourself, you don't bother anyone and they don't bother you? Is that really more to ask for than is possible in this world? Do I want to continue living in a world where that modest goal is unattainable?

I'm really not too sure, these days. The world is such an ugly place. And far too unfair for this justice-minded Libra to get her mind around.

I don't believe in suicide, but I do believe in fervently wishing for death to overtake one.




Reading: "The Lighthouse", by P.D.James

Listening: Pawing through my old cassettes, I blew the dust of some Leonard Cohen. Listening to "I'm Your Man" (Leonard Cohen) and "Famous Blue Raincoat" (Jennifer Warnes covering an entire album of Cohen songs.)

Beading Watching Doing: Swimming

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com