rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















inventory
August 02, 2006

Nephew has a funny little habit of taking inventory of his days--he'll had up all the little bits of goodness, tallying them on his fingers. If he can come up with several, he'll pronounce that "this might actually turn out to be a GOOD day."

That's kind of the way I feel right now. Let's see, shall we?
1. I've finally found the Gucci handbag in the Goodwill store that is my job.
In the enormous pile of unsavoury crap that I call work, there has emerged one small but satisfying nugget. One task I have coveted for years. And they finally gave it to me!
Naturally, I'm not getting any training, but even without it I have more knowledge about this particular corner of our business than anyone else. And at least it's fun to do. And it's actual coding! Finally, I get to do some coding!

2. Today I completed the first phase of a project that has been giving me fits and headaches for months. YAY!

3. I took a long lunch and went to Panera with my dearly loved and sorely missed good friend D, who is in town to visit her doctor and spend some time with her youngest. Much chatting and dishing and mutual support and even a few giggles. The biggest news: Her older son is back in Iraq again, this time with his wife. They were quietly and hurriedly married by the chaplain at the base, before they were deployed. Much to D's chagrin, as she was cooking up a traditional Indian wedding extravaganza. Well, that will have to wait now, until after their tours of duty.

4. Oh, what a lunch! I had the pick two, a half-salad with a half-sandwich. Turkey Bacon Bravo. Their Strawberry Poppyseed & Chicken Salad is seriously to die for. And as for Turkey Bacon Bravo, that damn sandwich owns me. I'm so its bitch.

5. Although it's still horribly hot, relief is nearly in sight. Thunderstorms tonight are supposed to bring an end to the heat wave, and tomorrow should be around 77�.

6. A rose bush we had thought to be dead back in June suddenly came round in the past few weeks, and today I noticed that it is sporting no less than three gorgeous crimsom blossoms.


1-2-3-4-5-6.

Yep. I think this might actually turn out to be a GOOD day."




Reading: "She May Not Leave", by Fay Weldon.

Listening: XM, Sonic Theater. Blackstone Audio presents: "Whose Body", by Dorothy L. Sayers

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com