rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















dreary days
July 11, 2006

The last couple of days have been mostly dreary, cool, and rainy-grey. While I love to get the precip, I confess that I've got a pool jones at the moment, and the clouds are not my friend.



Spouse made dinner last night, which is really more than I expected--even it it was just bratwurst, canned baked beans, and deli salads. And tonight he's working on something even more substantial: baked pork chops, mashed potatoes and gravy, peas, and biscuits.

The chops are shake-n-bake, the peas frozen, the gravy from a jar, and the biscuits from a can. But he makes his own, homemade mashed potatoes. And I often cut the same corners myself, so I'm not complaining. He'll do a good job, and he'll clean up as he goes, which is more than I do.



That's a quirk of his--he can't stand to cook in a messy kitchen. Unusual trait to find in a world-class slob like Spouse, who is a 3-time winner of the Oscar Madison Trophy.

I think that if, just once in my life, someone else was doing the dishes after I cooked...I might be better at cleaning as I go. But since it's all mine to deal with either way? I just let it pile up till dinner is over.


It's that time of year again at the office. I was so cold today my hands stopped working for a while. I had to run hot water over them to get 'em going again. Nice way to celebrate the anniversary of my surgery! Yep--one year ago today I was going under the knife.

Best thing I've ever done, and I can only kick myself for waiting so long to do it.



I hope Spouse decides to go to bed early tonight. I need to monopolize the TV in a big way. I got the first two seasons of "Upstairs Downstairs, The Complete Series" from the library on Saturday, and I only have a week to watch them. I need to get going--that is about 30 hours or so of programming to get through. I started the Saturday evening, but I'm only about 3 episodes in. I've got 90% to go!

I'd forgotten--or maybe I never knew--that the first episodes were in B&W. And I'd forgotten that the production values for early 70s British television were so abysmal. The sound quality, the lighting, and the film/tape quality are dreadful. Fortunately, there is the writing and the acting to mitigate things.
This is, after all, my all-time favorite soap opera.

I yearn for this 10-DVD set. There really isn't any way I can justify $250.00 for it, but I long to possess it just the same. Profound thanks to whatever librarian saw to it that the library made the purchase!




Reading: "Confessions of a Nervous Shiksa", by Tracy McArdle.

Listening: XM, "70s on 7". Badfinger, John Denver, Queen. Yeah, that station is all over the place, too.

Beading Watching: Season One of "Upstairs, Downstairs".

One Year Ago, I was bitchin' about my meds.


At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com