rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















if life gives you lemons
July 10, 2006

Make Lemon Icebox Cookies!
.5 c Butter
1.0 c Sugar
1.0 Egg
1.0 Lemon; juice and rind
2.5 c Flour
.5 tsp Soda
.5 tsp Cream of tartar
.25 tsp Salt
Cream butter and sugar; add egg and juice and rind of lemon. Sift flour, soda, and cream of tartar. Combine with butter mixture and mold into rolls and refrigerate at least 12 hours. Slice and bake at 375�, 10-12 minutes.

Lemon Glaze Icing
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons confectioners' sugar, sifted
1 tablespoon warm water
Mix all ingredients until smooth; dip cooled Lemon Icebox Cookies in glaze and let set.

YUMMY!
That's one of the things I did this weekend. I haven't made those in years, but I got a sudden wild hair. Probably that old insecurity thing that compels me to cook and bake and put up preserves whenever I'm feeling vulnerable.

Another thing I did was swim-swimmity-swim-swim-swim! Hot damn, I love my pool.



And I love my Steely Dan, too. They were great on Friday night. Just as sparkling, crystal, sharp-as-a-knife's-edge as always. And Michael McDonald was pretty good too--I'm not a huge fan, but he did a lot of Doobie Bros., some MoTown, and he came out for a set with the Dan. He didn't do "Dirty Work" (darn!) but he took lead vocals on "Showbiz Kids", and a duet, with Fagen, of "Do It Again". Which was pretty awesome.

Spouse got a shirt, I got a pewter keychain (hung it on my bag as a purse charm), and we stopped at the truckstop on the way home for a bite.

I'm getting too old to eat cheeseburgers at 1:00 am. That made it all the sweeter to be doing so, though.



If I seem strangely relaxed and upbeat this July Monday--blame it on the fact that Spouse is employed again!!!!

That's right.
He has another job already. He starts on Saturday at a baking company up by Milwaukee.

Please-o-please, whatever powers may lurk in this universe, let this one work out.




Reading: "Confessions of a Nervous Shiksa", by Tracy McArdle.

Listening: XM, "Big Tracks". ELO, Ozzy Osbourne, Johnny Rivers. Yeah, that station is all over the place.

Beading: Finishing the hardware on the "Glinda" necklace

One Year Ago, I didn't post.


At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com