rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















slowly, slowly, getting there
June 05, 2006

I had a busy weekend. Running errands, working in the yard, and doing the usual mountain of housework. I bought a new shower curtain, a set of coffee mugs (at 42, I'm way overdue for a matched set!), and paper products to donate to the women's shelter. I cleaned my clothes, my house, and my car. I didn't cook much, I read quite a bit, I got my oil changed, and cleaned out two kitchen cupboards. I walked the dog, drank my morning coffee in the back yard, and enjoyed the beautiful weather.

I did NOT get my swimming pool.



That had to wait until today. The installers are finishing up as I write this, and the water truck is on its way. Saturday was a washout, due to our fence. They couldn't get the Bobcat into the yard. So they re-scheduled, and through the kindness of my neighbor, were able to take down a section of fence and come through his yard.

BUT--Spouse still has to wire it, and it has to be filtered for 24 hours, and then we have to have the water tested, and then we have to treat the water...yadayadayada.

Oh, eventually, I suppose.



I hope we are up and running by the weekend, though--Spouse has already invited relatives over for a christening party next Sunday! Niece, Nephew, P&E, JR, and Papa are invited over to party and celebrate Papa's 76th birthday.

Needless to say, he didn't consult me about this before calling all and sundry and giving them the Mr. Hospitality routine.



So I'm less than thrilled with him, and I'm even less so about the fact that he didn't go to work today, because of the pool installation.

Takes a helluva guy to cheese me off enough to have me looking forward to the dentist. I have a cleaning in a little while, and I'm actually relieved. Having my teeth scraped is preferable to being with him tonight.




Reading: �More Tales of the City", by Armistead Maupin. The second book in the series. I have both "28 Barbary Lane", (which contains this book) and "Back to Barbary Lane", the omnibus volumes that hold the entire series. Periodically, I find myself needing to go back to Russian Hill and be with Mona, Mouse, Mrs. Madrigal, Mary Ann, and Brian. The world Maupin made is so awesomely real that it feels wonderful to visit it now and again. And after hearing rumors there may be a new book, about Michael Mouse at 54, I again feel the need to be there, on Barbery Lane.


Listening: XM, Frank's Place. Ella Fitzgerald, Oscar Peterson, Sammy Davis Jr.


Beading: Achy hands and busy weekends do not a beader make.

One Year Ago, I was drinkin� my Drano.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com