rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















domesticities
June 02, 2006, 10:10 P.M.

I've been overdoing it at work lately, and my hands are letting me know it. Tingling, swelling, and a dull achiness, with a generally fatigued feeling to boot. I need to start wearing the braces again--no sense undoing all the good of the surgeries.



Even though I napped earlier in the evening, I stayed up late last night to carry the frozen food down and stow it in the freezer, then got up early so I could re-pack it and take it to the car. So I'm kind of tired and lethargic today.

Co-worker was glad to get the sandwiches and pizzas for a bargain price, though.

21¢ sandwiches, and 14¢ mini-pizzas? Gotta admit that is a helluva deal.



I took Exboss his birthday coffee cake, and he was tickled to get it. He knows I appreciate him, and consider him a friend, and the significance of my actually baking is not lost on him.

Which is why I do it, of course.



I can't understand the dynamic of my team at work, and that bugs me. Because once I peg a person or a group, I can work around them. I don't care how fucked up they are, if I can understand their particular brand of fuckupedness, I can deal with it.

These twits inspire some real head-scratching, bumfuzzling, pondering, though. I just can't seem to get a line on it.



I went into some kind of crazy baking overdrive this afternoon--I made another coffee cake, because Spouse seemed a little cheesed that he didn't get a crack at the first one. And I baked chocolate chip cookies so I could try out my new silicone baking mat. I like it--I was able to get the cookes nicely browned without scorching the bottoms.


When I asked Spouse if he'd like dinner tonight, he said yes, he'd like something with mashed potatoes. After my mind did a quick inventory of the pantry, I rattled off "How about baked chicken breasts, stuffing, mashed potatoes & gravy, and baby peas?".

To which he responded with a very firm Yes. So. That's dinner.

Not a difficult meal to pull off, when you have a pan of stuffing already prepared and in the freezer, frozen peas and frozen chicken, and a jar of gravy sitting on the shelf. But he'll feel like I went to tremendous trouble just for him.

But I'm tickled to do it, since it's such an easy meal. And for once, I didn't even have to go to the store. Plus, I brewed him up a fresh batch of (decaf) sweet tea. And he even got cookies for dessert! Talk about service.



The pool man will be here at 7:00 am tomorrow, and Spouse has already told him we'll be waiting with hot coffee. The guy thinks it's hilarious how welcoming and hospitable we are, but dude--I want my pool!



Reading: �The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing", by Melissa Bank.


Listening: XM, 70s on 7. The Moody Blues, Dobie Gray, Elton John.


Beading: Badge lanyards, and zipper charms for Franklin Planners.


One Year Ago, I was not posting.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com