rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















one enchanted evening
May 17, 2006, 5:45 P.M.

Last night was genuinely pleasurable. It was gorgeous out, a perfect night for grilling, and for fresh strawberries. I stopped on my way home to get ice cream for the berries, which pleased Spouse greatly. And when I got home, he had just finished all the yardwork, and was relaxing in the swing. Mirage was stretched out beside him, cooling her belly in the grass. So I slipped on some shorts, poured us some iced tea, and joined them.

Spouse got cordless speakers for the yard last week, which are really nice. It lets us listen to the big stereo outside. He had one of them out there, playing the CDs he'd loaded up. We just talked and chilled and listened to The Dan and The Stones for a while.

Then I came in to clean up the disaster area called the kitchen, and to prep my fresh green beans, the berries, and the rice cooker. Spouse got the charcoal lit, skewered the marinated pork, and did the grilling.

Great dinner. Then I cleaned up the kitchen again, put the trash out, thawed steak for tonight's dinner, brewed a fresh batch of iced tea, did a little laundry, and then futzed with my beads till bedtime.

All in all, a very pleasant, quiet evening. Almost like normal people.



Traffic Rant
You know, I have no high moral objection to speeding. I don't, very often, for various reasons, but sanctimony isn't one of them. It's simply that A)speeding doesn't make my peepee tingle, B)I have an adequate amount of time to get where I'm going, and C) I don't feel I can afford the costs of moving violations and increased gas consumption.

That said--I really hate speeders. As someone who drives 4 miles over the speed limit (59 mph), in the far right lane of a six lane highway, I do not understand why people ride my ass. I am going faster than the law allows already, and I am in the lane designated for "slower vehicles". If you don't wish to follow me because of my pace, it is simple:

Don't stay in my lane and ride the gas,
Move on over and pass my ass!

But they don't. And gawdelpus if we happen to be in the center lane. These are terribly busy and important people, who have no time for you to get over to the right and out of their way. They are SO terribly important that they reserve that far right lane for their personal use as a passing lane.

How the heck can you be pissed at me for not getting over, at the same time you block me from doing so?

At the end of the day, I suppose it comes down to the same old thing that always bugs me. Lack of logic. Almost everything that makes me insane in this world can be boiled down to that. You'd think I'd get over my unreasonable expectations of others, but I never seem to do so.
/end rant



Unfortunately, I don't have any time today, so this will have to be it as far as posts go. I've got spreadsheets and referred issues and table updates spinning round my brain anyway, so I couldn't think straight on a bet.



Reading: "A Clutch of Constables", by Ngaio Marsh, and "Excel 2000 For Windows For Dummies", by Greg Harvey


Listening: XM, The System (Electronica). Juno Reactor, David Forbes, Trevor Reilly.


Beading: Working on a beaded badge lanyard. I've settled on some shades of purple, and worked out most of what I want to do.


One Year Ago, I was leaving notes.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com