rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















lazy lackadaisy
May 01, 2006, 9:02 P.M.

Rick Moranis? Country?!

On second thought�I�m not too surprised. I�m not surprised he got a Grammy nomination for it, either.

Spouse pointed this out at Wally�s on Saturday, and asked me when all that happened. Since it had slid by under my radar too, I googled. Wow. I�ve always had a semi-crush on the little dweeb. Now, more than ever.



I had a kind of a weird weekend. I had a crapload of stuff to do after my doctor visit on Friday�but I chucked all the errands and went and hung out with W. instead.

Oh yeah--the doctor. He decided I was doing okay, and left my meds right where they were.

Because compulsive behavior, sleeping eleven hours a day, and drafting melodramatic suicide notes in your spare time? Are no big deal.

I hope all this doesn't make me hate my doctor. Because I really like my doctor, and I don't want that to get all fucked up.



On Saturday afternoon, I sort of crashed the Pampered Chef party of a former co-worker, at W�s invitation. Ordered some more of the black nylon utensils, the revolving caddy for them, some spices, and some cob nobs for the sweet corn season.

W was waffling over the Cinnamon Plus, and decided it was to expensive, so I sneaked an extra bottle onto my order for her.

A geture that paid off in instant karma, I might add. That $5.75 for her spices put me at exactly $60.00, and qualified me to get the free party gift�a set of plastic picnic plates.

We had fun, and it was nice to see my old Wally�s buddy again. Those parties are nice because you can get social but it usually only lasts a couple of hours or so.

And since Spouse ended up being off Saturday (isn�t that always the way?) I followed up the shopping party with more shopping. We ran to a nearby Wally�s Supercenter to get some stuff we needed. Shampoo, body wash, windshield wipers, some groceries.

And a whacking huge party-sized charcoal grill.

Yeah. It surprised me, too�I had no idea we needed that.

When we got home, he cooked Italian sausage outside, despite the rain. We had them with deli salads and some of my five-minute baked beans. Not bad for a Saturday supper.

And then I crashed in the recliner. Since I have zero stamina, that day wore me out.



Wore me out so bad it took me till Monday morning to recover. Seriously. I spent Sunday in my bathrobe. Spouse made breakfast, of French toast and sausage, it was pouring rain so I didn�t have to walk the dog, and Spouse left at two for a full shift at work. So I had a lovely day of alternate coffee and napping, lazing about, reading, and playing Zuma and Cubis2 on the computer.

I cleaned up the kitchen three times, and I made pasta with meat sauce and garlic bread for dinner, but really, other than that, I just vegged.

It was so great.



Today at work was one hassle after another, non-stop. Coming at me endlessly, throughout a day I thought was going to last forever.

And it hit me--this isn't going to ever get any better. This is what my job is like now. And unless I do something to change things, I'm stuck with it. There isn't any waiting the situation out this time around.




Reading: "The Nursing Home Murder", by Ngaio Marsh.


Listening: XM, On Broadway. Songs from �Taboo�, �Oliver!�, and �Kiss Me, Kate�.


Beading: nuthin'.


One Year Ago, I didn't post.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com